Home > screeNZ News > Film > 2014 APSAs thin on NZ nominees

2014 APSAs thin on NZ nominees

Cliff Curtis’ performance in James Napier Robertson’s The Dark Horse is the only NZ nomination for this year’s Asia Pacific Screen Awards.

The Dark Horse

James Rolleston and Best Actor nominee Cliff Curtis in The Dark Horse

All up over 250 films from 42 Asia Pacific countries and areas were submitted, with 35 achieving one or more nominations.

Again demonstrating its loose interpretation of geography, APSA has named two Best Film finalists which are more European than anything. Although the selection is not as broad as last year’s (which saw titles from Denmark, France, Germany, Norway, the Russian Federation and the UK win awards) this year Winter Sleep (Turkey, France, Germany) and Leviathan (Russian Federation) will compete with Iran’s I’m Not Angry, Iraqi Kurdistan’s Memories on Stone and Kazakhstan’s The Owners.

I'm Not Angry!

Best Feature nominee Reza Dormishian’s I’m Not Angry (Asabami Nistam!)

Russian films tie with Chinese titles to claim the most nominations with six apiece, while Russia’s Leviathan is the most-nominated title with three nods, ahead of a crop of titles with two apiece. Hosts Australia take four finalist slots including a pair for Charlie’s Country.

As well as the awards APSA also shares the love in cash, offering support in three streams:
the MPA APSA Academy Film Fund (4 x US$25,000) in development funds,
the APSA Academy Children’s Film Fund by 4 Boys Films specifically for development films for and about the youth of Asia Pacific, and the emerging talent award, the APSA Academy NETPAC Development Prize (US$10,000).

The Asia Pacific Screen Awards will be presented in Brisbane on 11 December.

The 2014 APSA nominees are:

Best Feature Film
Asabani Nistam! (I’m Not Angry!)
Leviafan (Leviathan)
Bîranînên li ser kevirî (Memories on Stone)
The Owners
Kiş Uykusu (Winter Sleep)

Best Youth Feature Film
52 Tuesdays
Klass Korrekzii (Corrections Class)
Killa (The Fort)

Best Documentary Feature Film
Hezar-o yek Siv (1001 Apples)
Bidesia in Bambai
Sanda (Sanda: Surviving)
Eau Argentée, Syrie autoportrait (Silvered Water, Syria Self-Portrait)
Wukan: Minzu Zhi Guang (Wukan: The Flame of Democracy)

Best Animated Feature Film
Qingwa Wangguo (Frog Kingdom)
Maya The Bee Movie
Chang-baek-han Eol-gul-deul (On The White Planet)
Woo-ri-byul Il-ho-wa Ul-ruk-so (The Satellite Girl and Milk Cow)
Kaguya-hime no Monogatari (The Tale of The Princess Kaguya)

Achievement In Directing
Rolf de Heer for Charlie’s Country
Andrey Zvyagintsev for Leviafan (Leviathan)
Im Kwon-taek for Hwajang (Revivre)
Rakhshan Banietemad for Ghesseha (Tales)
Nuri Bilge Ceylan for Kiş Uykusu (Winter Sleep)

Best Screenplay
Prasanna Jayakody for 28
Alexey Fedorchenko, Denis Osokin and Oleg Loyevsky for Angely Revolucii (Angels of Revolution)
Nima Javidi for Melbourne
Shawkat Amin Korki and Mehmet Aktaş for Bîranînên li ser kevirî (Memories on Stone)
Giancarlo Abrahan for Dagitab (Sparks)

Achievement In Cinematography
Dong Jinsong for Bai Ri Yan Huo (Black Coal, Thin Ice)
Zeng Jian for Tui Na (Blind Massage)
Mikhail Krichman for Leviafan (Leviathan)
Levan Kapanadze for Ispytanie (Test)
Yerkinbek Ptyraliyev for The Owners

Best Performance By An Actor
Mahendra Perera in 28
Liao Fan in Bai Ri Yan Huo (Black Coal, Thin Ice)
David Gulpilil in Charlie’s Country
Navid Mohammadzadeh in Asabani Nistam! (I’m Not Angry!)
Cliff Curtis in The Dark Horse

Best Performance By An Actress
Ronit Elkabetz in Gett (Gett, The Trial of Viviane Amsalem)
Nora Aunor in Hustisya (Justice)
Lü Zhong in Chuangru Zhe (Red Amnesia)
Tang Wei in Huangjin Shidai (The Golden Era)
Merila Zareie in Shiar-E 143 (Track 143)

In addition to the juried awards, APSA also presents two outstanding achievement gongs: the UNESCO Award and the FIAPF Award.

You may also like
APSA names all award contenders
APSA selects Caught in the Web
BAPFF a goner
APSAs go Cold