Home > screeNZ News > Film > 2017 Someday winners named

2017 Someday winners named

The sustainability-focused film challenge for young filmmakers, The Outlook for Someday (TOFS), has named the winners of its 20 awards. At a ceremony in Auckland next week, those winners will find out which of the awards they’ve won.

This year the films are being hosted on Stuff and the 21st award, the Stuff Audience Choice, opens voting today.

The challenge, which began in 2007, is open to people aged up to 24, who make short sustainability-related films of any genre. The 2017 challenge attracted 75 entries. This year’s 20 winning films have been made by individuals and teams aged 9 – 22.

The prizes include entry of each film into at least one international film festival in 2018, a strategy that’s produced good results in recent years with a number of films going on to pick up recognition and awards internationally.

Among the challenge’s longtime participants, 16 year-old Sarah Ridsdale will collect her fourth Someday award this year. Last year her Dog Island Motu Piu won the top gong. This year she’s a winner with Subsistence to Sustainability.

Sarah’s younger brother Sam had a film shortlisted at TOFS in 2013, and this year (at the ripe old age of 12) scores his own bragging rights with Clever Trevor.

Auckland University student, Michael Jessup, has entered eight films over four years, and is this year rewarded with two wins, for MADal stream Cleanup, made with Jenny Ann Sweatman, and solo effort Penguin Boxes.

Filmmakers shortlisted in previous years who’ve won this year are Brooke Waterson (shortlisted in 2014), awarded this year for S.O.S Save Our Seas; Micah Winiata (shortlisted in 2010), now a winner with Te Ara Whakamua; and Lea Fini, shortlisted last year, awarded this year with The Surface.

As well as Sarah Ridsdale, this year’s returning winners are 2016 winners Mackenzie Reid and Philly Mete Kingi, who respectively win this year with What Is Happiness? and Inanga.

Neihana Te Hau O Te Rangi Lowe completes a hat-trick this year with Tūrangawaewae, having won in 2015 with Home and last year with Warning.

As next week’s awards ceremony marks the end of another cycle for TOFS, the second edition of its film funding initiative, Someday Stories, is getting under way. Someday Stories is open for submissions until 14 December.



This year’s The Outlook for Someday winners are:
Archie by Hollie Cohen (17)
Genre: Video Essay
Clever Trevor by Sam Ridsdale (12) from Palmerston North
Genre: Animated Documentary
Environmental Defenders by a team from Pomaria Road School (9-11) in Auckland
Genre: Drama
Hayden’s Time Adventure by a team from Putaruru College (13-14) in Waikato
Genre: Docudrama
Inanga by Philly Kingi (16) from Ōtaki
Genre: Animated Documentary
MADal stream Cleanup by Michael Jessup (20) and Jenny Ann Sweatman (19) from Auckland
Genre: Documentary
Penguin Boxes by Michael Jessup (20) from Auckland
Genre: Documentary
Plastic Straw Free Rangiora by a team aged from 10-12 from North Loburn School in Canterbury
Genre: Documentary
See Beyond The Label by Jodi Melody (22) and Sarah-Louise Crawford (22) from Wellington
Genre: Advertisement
small CHANGES by a team aged 9-11 from Waitākiri Primary School in Christchurch
Genre: Docudrama
S.O.S Save Our Seas by Brooke Waterson (22) from Auckland
Genre: Silent Movie
Subsistence to Sustainability by Sarah Ridsdale (16) from Palmerston North
Genre: Documentary
Te Ara Whakamua by Micah Winiata (19) from Tauranga
Genre: Documentary
The Right Bin by Geoff Chen (15) from Auckland
Genre: Documentary
The Schoolyard Bullies by Jordan Shanks (11) and Blake Cousens (11) from Somerfield School in Christchurch
Genre: Drama
The Surface by Lèa Fini (14) from Waiheke
Genre: Docudrama
The Truth of Technology by a team from Baradene College (14-15) in Auckland
Genre: Drama
Tūrangawaewae by a team aged 18-21 from Auckland
Genre: Drama
Wai Parahanga byJosh Boag (16) from New Plymouth
Genre: Animated Drama
What Is Happiness? by Mackenzie Reid (14) from Otago
Genre: Video Essay

Each film will win one of the following awards
New Zealand Film Commission Film-making Achievement Award
For a film with outstanding creative / technical quality

The Adam & Eve Show Secondary School Film-makers Award
For a film made by young people of secondary school age

Auckland Council Film-maker Award
For a film by a film-maker or team from the Auckland region

The Coconet.tv Pasifika Award
For a film by a Pasifika film-maker or team and/or featuring Pasifika language and culture

Department of Conservation Big Picture Award
For a film that relates to the Big Picture focus of DOC’s National Education Strategy

Enviroschools Sustainable Future Award
For a film which promotes dialogue on sustainability through a new perspective and/or critical thinking

Karma Cola People and Planet Award
For a film that addresses social justice as a sustainability issue

The Lowdown Award
For a film that focuses on social inclusion and mental wellbeing as a sustainability issue for young people

Māori Television Whakatipuranga Award
For a film with a Māori indigenous perspective on sustainability

Ministry of Youth Development Community Participation Award
For a film focusing on active citizenship

Phantom Billstickers Media Empowerment Award
For a film which empowers its viewers and/or its maker

Photogear Cinematic Award
For a film with outstanding cinematography

Rockstock Sustainable Lifestyle Award
For a film focusing on lifestyle change for sustainability

Stephens Lawyers Young Voices For Change Award
For a film motivating young people and/or decision-makers to be change-makers

Tearaway Secondary School Performance Award
For a film made by young people of secondary school age with strong on-screen performance

Upstart Magazine Primary/Intermediate School Performance Award
For a film made by young people of primary or intermediate school age with strong on-screen performance

Villainesse Young Women Film-makers Award
For a film made by a young woman film-maker or team

Weta Digital Media Award
For a film with outstanding editing or animation

What Now Primary/Intermediate School Film-makers Award
For a film made by young people of primary or intermediate school age

The Wireless Storytelling Award
For a film with powerful storytelling