Home > screeNZ News > Film > Academy names new Board of Governors

Academy names new Board of Governors

Apart from a tied vote in the film editors branch, which requires a bit more work to select one of two candidates, the Academy’s latest Board of Governors is confirmed.

Director Roger Ross Williams (pictured, top), currently in NZ to present his Life, Animated at this year’s NZIFF, is among those elected to the board for the first time. Williams won the Oscar for short doco for 2010’s Music by Prudence. His doco feature God Loves Uganda won Best International Feature and Best Director at Doc Edge in 2014.

Each of the Academy’s 17 branches elects three board members for a term of three years. Earlier this year the President also appointed three ‘Governors at large’, who will continue their terms. They are Reginald Hudlin, Gregory Nava and Yuh Nelson.

The Governors are:
Kate Amend
John Bailey
Annette Bening
Craig Barron
Albert Berger
Charles Bernstein
Jim Bissell
Kathryn Blondell
Jon Bloom
Lois Burwell
Rick Carter
Kevin Collier
Sharen K. Davis
Laura Dern
Caleb Deschanel
Leonard Engelman
Daniel R. Fellman
Michael Giacchino
Cheryl Boone Isaacs
Tom Hanks
Jim Gianopulos
Mark Johnson
Laura Karpman
Kathleen Kennedy
Lora Kennedy
Rory Kennedy
John Knoll
Bill Kroyer
Jeffrey Kurland
Marvin Levy
Carol Littleton
Mark Mangini
Michael Mann
William M. Mechanic
Scott Millan
Daryn Okada
Jan Pascale
Billy Ray
Phil Robinson
Bob Rogers
David Rubin
Steven Spielberg
Robin Swicord
Bill Taylor
Bernard Telsey
Michael Tronick
Nancy Utley
Roger Ross Williams
Edward Zwick

You may also like
Academy ticks the boxes
Academy names recipients of 2016 Governors Awards
Academy invites record number
Academy takes action