Home > screeNZ News > Film > ADG celebrates winners

ADG celebrates winners

Jennifer Kent’s The Babadook collected another award on the weekend, winning the Australian Directors Guild’s Best Direction in a Feature Film gong at the awards bash in Melbourne.

The Babadook

The Babadook’s Noah Wiseman
Photo: Matt Nettheim

The bash also celebrated the 30th anniversary of Melbourne-shot soap Neighbours, although Home & Away took away the TV Drama Serial award.

Eddy Bell’s Grey Bull, shot by ex-pat Kiwi Callan Green, took the short film award. Matchbox Pictures’ Nowhere Boys and Devil’s Playground, produced by expats Helen Bowden and Helen Panckhurst respectively, were both winners.

The ADG held its annual awards in Melbourne on Friday 8 May. Selected award winners were:

Best Direction In A TV Drama Series
The Code, Series 1 Episode 4, Shawn Seet

Best Direction In A Documentary (Stand Alone)
Prison Songs, Kelrick Martin

Best Direction In A Children’s TV Programme
(joint winners)
Get Grubby TV, Cate McQuillen
Nowhere Boys, Series 2 Episode 7, Craig Irvin

Best Direction In An Original Online Project
Wastelander Panda: Exile, Victoria Cocks

Best Direction In A Short Film
Grey Bull, Eddy Bell

Best Direction In A TV Drama Serial
Home And Away, Episode 6051, Scott Hartford-Davis

Best Direction In A TV Drama Serial
Please Like Me, Series 2 Episode 7, Matthew Saville

Best Direction In A Documentary Series
Changing Minds, Episode 2, Cian O’Clery

Best Direction In A TV Mini Series
Devil’s Playground, Episode 5, Tony Krawitz

Best Direction In A Documentary Feature
Love Marriage In Kabul, Amin Palangi

Best Direction In A Telemovie
Jack Irish: Dead Point, Jeffrey Walker

Excellence In TV Drama Direction
Chris Langman

Best Direction In A Feature Film
The Babadook, Jennifer Kent

You may also like
800 Words wins in Australia
Few cheers for Bravo
Aussie win at Kids Emmys
ADG calls for quota for women