Home > screeNZ News > Film > AFA finds 2017 winners

AFA finds 2017 winners

This year’s Asian Film Awards named 34 titles with 73 nominations for 15 juried awards, selected from almost 1,600 submissions from 28 countries.

The event, originated in Hong Kong by the Hong Kong International Film Festival, has run for the last three years in Macau, but this year returned to Hong Kong, one of a number of events that coincide with the 20th anniversary of the return of Hong Kong to Chinese rule.

Chinese director JIA Zhangke, who last year won the AFA Screenplay gong for Mountains May Depart, led the AFA jury. Las week Jia announced a new film festival in his home province of Shanxi, the Pingyao International Film Festival, which will run in October.

The most-nominated AFA title this year, with six nods, was the Cannes-premiered adaptation of Sarah Waters’ novel, Fingersmith: Park Chan-wook’s The Handmaiden (pictured, top). Feng Xiaogang’s I Am Not Madame Bovary and Sang-ho Yeon’s zombies on a train romp Train to Busan received five nominations each. Of the three, only Madame Bovary had nominations in the Best Film and Director categories.

I Am Not Madame Bovary took Best Film, Actress (Fan Bingbing) and Cinematography (Luo Pan).

I Am Not Madame Bovary

Although not nominated for either the Best Film or Director awards, The Handmaiden had a good evening, collecting four gongs to make it the most awarded title.

Despite AFA director Roger Garcia saying in an interview, shortly before this year’s AFA, that commercial films were very much a part of the AFA, the most populist title among the nominees, Korean blockbuster Train to Busan, left the station empty-handed.

The Asian Film Awards will be presented on 21 March. The winners were (marked ***):

Best Film
The Wailing (South Korea)
The Age of Shadows (South Korea)
Harmonium (Japan)
Godspeed (Taiwan)
*** I Am Not Madame Bovary (China)

Best Director
*** Na Hong-jin, The Wailing
Koji Fukada, Harmonium
Derek Tsang, Soul Mate
Feng Xiaogang, I Am Not Madame Bovary
Lav Diaz, The Woman Who Left

Best Actor
Michael Hui, Godspeed
Gong Yoo, Train to Busan
*** Asano Tadanobu, Harmonium
Fan Wei, Mr. No Problem
Richie Jen, Trivisa

Best Actress
Son Ye-jin, The Last Princess
*** Fan Bingbing, I Am Not Madame Bovary
Haru Kuroki, A Bride for Rip Van Winkle
Kara Wai, Happiness
Charo Santos-Concio, The Woman Who Left

Best Supporting Actor
Jun Kunimura, The Wailing
Ma Dong-seok, Train to Busan
Ayano Go, Rage
Dong Chengpeng/Da Peng, I Am Not Madame Bovary
*** Lam Suet, Trivisa

Best Supporting Actress
Elaine Jin, Mad World
*** Moon So-ri, The Handmaiden
Maeda Atsuko, The Mohican Comes Home
Shabana Azmi, Neerja
Lynn Xiong, See You Tomorrow

Best Newcomer
*** KIM Tae-ri, The Handmaiden, South Korea
SAKUMOTO Takara, Rage, Japan
Fir RAHMAN, Apprentice, Singapore, Germany, France, Hong Kong, Qatar
WU Tsz-tung, Weeds on Fire, Hong Kong
LIN Yun, The Mermaid, China

Best Screenplay
*** Asghar FARHADI, The Salesman, Iran, France
Lav DIAZ, The Woman Who Left, Philippines
SHINKAI Makoto, Your Name, Japan
PARK Chan-wook, JEONG Seo-Gyeong, The Handmaiden, South Korea
MAK Tin-shu, LUNG Man-hong, Thomas NG, Trivisa, Hong Kong

Best Editing
KIM Sang-bum, KIM Jae-bum, The Handmaiden, South Korea
IMAI Tsuyoshi, Rage, Japan
YANG Jin-mo, Train to Busan, South Korea
*** Lee CHATAMETIKOOL, Natalie SOH, Apprentice, Singapore, Germany, France, Hong Kong, Qatar
David RICHARDSON, Operation Mekong, Hong Kong, China

Best Cinematography
YAMAZAKI Yutaka, After the Storm, Japan
KIM Ji-yong, The Age of Shadows, South Korea
*** LUO Pan, I Am Not Madame Bovary, China
ZHU Jinjing, Mr. No Problem, China
DU Jie, The Wasted Times, China

Best Original Music
HATANO Yusuke, Peter KAM, Soul Mate, China
*** MOWG, The Age of Shadows, South Korea
Xavier JAMAUX, Three, Hong Kong
TSENG Si-ming, Godspeed, Taiwan
SAKAMOTO Ryuichi, Rage, Japan

Best Costume Design
Kenneth YEE Chung-man, The Wasted Times, China
*** JO Sang-gyeong, The Handmaiden, South Korea
KUROSAWA Kazuko, The Sanada Ten Braves, Japan
KWON Yoo-jin, RIM Seung-hee, Train to Busan, South Korea
William CHANG, CHEUNG Siu-hong, See You Tomorrow, Hong Kong, China

Best Production Design
*** RYU Seong-hee, The Handmaiden, South Korea
KANG Seung-yong, Pandora, South Korea
HEYA Kyoko, A Bride for Rip Van Winkle, Japan
Alfred YAU, See You Tomorrow, Hong Kong, China
FENG Ligang, Railroad Tigers, China

Best Visual Effects
JUNG Hwang-su, Train to Busan, South Korea
*** OHYA Tetsuo, Shin Godzilla, Japan
SUN Li, SHENG Yong, Sam WANG, SUN Jing, Railroad Tigers, China
Perry KAIN, Johnny LIN, Thomas REPPEN, See You Tomorrow, Hong Kong, China

Best Sound
KIM Dong-han, The Wailing, South Korea
*** FANG Tao, HAO Zhiyu, Crosscurrent, China
NAKAMURA Jun, Shin Godzilla, Japan
Kinson TSANG, George LEE, Cold War 2, Hong Kong, China

Rising Star Award
Jelly Lin Yun

Lifetime Achievement Award
Tsui Hark

Excellence in Asian Cinema Award
Sammi Cheng

You may also like
Asian Film Awards names 2017 nominees
AFA 2014: Macau gambles on awards success
FILMART 2014: sister events go local, go hard
AFA 2014: M is for Macau