Home > screeNZ News > Film > APSA 2011: announces jury

APSA 2011: announces jury

Veteran Hong Kong producer Nansun Shi will head this year`s APSA jury, enjoying a trip to the Gold Coast come November.

Nansun Shi

Nansun Shi

Other jury members will be Cameron Bailey, co-director of the Toronto International Film Festival, Japanese director and actress Kaori Momoi (Memoirs of a Geisha, Hong Kong Confidential, Kagemusha, The Yellow Handkerchief), Israeli director Samuel Maoz (whose Lebanon won Best Screenplay and a Jury Grand Prize at last year`s APSA in the same week it won two gongs at the European Film Awards), and the Executive Chairman of the China Film Producers Association, Ming Zhenjiang.

Shi`s first feature producer credit was for then husband Tsui Hark`s 1997 Double Team with Jean-Claude Van Damme, Dennis Rodman and Mickey Rourke. Almost her most recent is for ex-husband Tsui Hark`s 2010 Detective Dee, a six time winner at this year`s Hong Kong Film Awards.

In between she produced another ten films including Infernal Affairs, which Martin Scorsese reworked as The Departed. Prior to features, she produced a good deal of TV, including seven years on Once Upon a Time in China, a spin-off of Tsui Hark`s 1991 feature of the same name. Shi is a regular jury member at international festivals including Berlin and, earlier this year, Cannes.

240 films from 43 countries were submitted for consideration this year including, according to the media release “for the first time, films from Samoa and Cyprus”. Screen Hub has no clue about the Cypriot entry, but it`s a pretty safe bet what the Samoan one is.

Finalists will be announced shortly, with the ceremony talking place on 24 November. More information is available here.

You may also like
APSA names all award contenders
APSA selects Caught in the Web
BAPFF a goner
APSAs go Cold