Home > screeNZ News > Film > APSA: 2012 Nominations

APSA: 2012 Nominations

But for a half share of Happy Feet 2, Australia is shut out of the Asia Pacific Screen Awards it created and hosts. NZ doesn`t get a look in this time around. The sixth edition of the awards has selected 34 films from 18 countries from 264 submissions.

Beyond the Hill

Tepenin Ardi/Beyond the Hill

Japan picked up four of five nominations in the Animated Film category (Happy Feet 2 being the fifth). Two of the films nominated will screen in NZ shortly in Madman`s Reel Animé Festival: From Up on Poppy Hill (already seen in the NZIFF) and Wolf Children.

All the films nominated for Best Feature are also nominated in other categories. Tepenin Ardi (Beyond the Hill) leads the way with three, also nominated in the Best Screenplay Best Actor categories.

A few films recently submitted (this year or last) for the Oscars` Foreign Language Film gong are nominated here, including Bunohan (Bunohan: Return to Murder, Malaysia), Hearat shulayim (Footnote, Israel) and Seediq Bale (Warriors of the Rainbow: Seediq Bale, Taiwan).

In addition to the juried awards, APSA also presents the International Federation of Film Producers’ Associations (FIAPF) Award, for Outstanding Achievement in Film in the Asia Pacific region, and the UNESCO Award, for Outstanding Contribution to the Promotion and Preservation of Cultural Diversity Through Film.

The sixth edition of the Asia Pacific Screen Awards runs on Friday 23 November. The ceremony is webcast here. The nominees are:

Bumchoiwaui Junjaeng (Nameless Gangster: Rules of the Time), Republic of Korea
Produced by Park Shin-kyu, Han Jae-duk
Khers (Bear), Islamic Republic of Iran
Produced by Javad Norouzbeigi
Orda (The Horde), Russian Federation
Produced by Natalya Gostyushina, Sergei Kravets
Tepenin Ardi (Beyond the Hill), Turkey, Greece
Produced by Enis Köstepen, Seyfi Teoman, Emin Alper
Co-Produced by Nikos Moutselos
Wu Xia, Hong Kong (PRC), People`s Republic of China
Produced by Peter Ho-sun Chan, Jojo Hui Yuet-chun
Co-Produced by Lu York, Dong Keyan, Hong Tao, Jiang Wenbo

Australia Sheli (My Australia), Poland, Israel
Produced by Marek Rozenbaum, Itai Tamir, Dariusz Jablonski, Violetta Kaminska, Izabela
Gattu, India
Produced by Dr. Shravan Kumar (Children`s Film Society of India)
Kiseki (I Wish), Japan
Produced by Kentaro Koike, Hijiri Taguchi
Co-Produced by Satomi Odake
Laut Bercermin (The Mirror Never Lies), Indonesia
Produced by Garin Nugroho, Nadine Chandrawinata
Orchim Lerega (Off White Lies), Israel
Produced by Aurit Zamir, Yoav Roeh
Co-Produced by Janja Kralj

Hams Caeraten Maksura / Hamesh Matzlemot Shvurot (Five Broken Cameras), Israel, Palestine, France
Produced by Christine Camdessus, Serge Gordey, Emad Burnat, Guy Davidi
In My Mother`s Arms, Iraq, UK, Netherlands
Produced by Isabelle Stead, Atia Jabarah Al-Daradji, Mohamed Jabarah Al-Daradji
Negeri di Bawah Kabut (The Land Beneath the Fog), Indonesia, Germany
Produced by Shalahuddin Siregar
Planet of Snail, Republic of Korea, Japan, Finland
Produced by Kim Min-chul, Gary Kam
Co-Produced by Janne Niskala, Imamura Ken-ichi
Shiton Hachok (The Law in These Parts), Israel, USA, Germany
Produced by Liran Atzmor
Co-Produced by BZ Goldberg, Laura Poitras, Martin Hagemann

Happy Feet Two, Australia, USA
Produced by Doug Mitchell, George Miller, Bill Miller
Co-Produced by Martin Wood
Kokurikozaka Kara (From Up on Poppy Hill), Japan
Produced by Toshio Suzuki
Momo e no tegami (A Letter to Momo), Japan
Produced by Mitsuhisa Ishikawa, Hiroyuki Ikeda, Shigeru Watanabe, Kazuya Hamana
Nijiiro Hotaru (Rainbow Fireflies), Japan
Produced by Atsutoshi Umezawa
Ookamikodomo no Ame to Yuki (Wolf Children), Japan
Produced by Yuichiro Saito, Takuya Ito, Takashi Watanabe

Anurag Kashyap for Gangs of Wasseypur, India
Brillante Ma. Mendoza for Sinapupunan (Thy Womb), Philippines
Cheng Er for Lethal Hostage, People’s Republic of China
Khosro Masoumi for Khers (Bear), Islamic Republic of Iran
Reis Çelik for Lal gece (Night of Silence), Turkey

Cheng Er for Lethal Hostage, People’s Republic of China
Chris Martinez for Ang Babae sa Septic Tank (The Woman in the Septic Tank), Philippines
Emin Alper for Tepenin Ardi (Beyond the Hill), Turkey, Greece
Reis Çelik for Lal gece (Night of Silence), Turkey
Shoaib Mansoor for Bol, Pakistan

Charin Pengpanich for Bunohan (Bunohan: Return to Murder), Malaysia
Chin Ting-Chang for Seediq Bale (Warriors of the Rainbow: Seediq Bale), Taiwan
Jake Pollock and Lai Yiu-fai for Wu Xia, Hong Kong (PRC), People’s Republic of China
Touraj Aslani for Fasle Kargadan (Rhino Season), Iraqi-Kurdistan,Turkey
Yury Raysky for Orda (The Horde), Russian Federation

Choi Min-sik for Bumchoiwaui Junjaeng (Nameless Gangster: Rules of the Time), Republic of Korea
Lior Ashkenazi for Hearat shulayim (Footnote), Israel
Manoj Bajpayee for Gangs of Wasseypur, India
Tamer Levent for Tepenin Ardi (Beyond the Hill), Turkey, Greece
Wu Tianming for Full Circle, People’s Republic of China

Cho Min-soo for Pieta, Republic of Korea
Darya Ekamasova for Zila bila odna baba (Once Upon a Time There Lived a Simple
Woman), Russian Federation
Humaima Malick for Bol, Pakistan
Nora Aunor for Sinapupunan (Thy Womb), Philippines
Vidya Balan for The Dirty Picture, India

You may also like
APSA names all award contenders
APSA selects Caught in the Web
BAPFF a goner
APSAs go Cold