Home > screeNZ News > Film > APSA opens 2015 fund

APSA opens 2015 fund

In China for the Beijing International Film Festival, the Asia Pacific Screen Awards (APSA) took the opportunity to announce the call for applications to the MPA APSA Academy Film Fund.

2014 winners at APSA

2014 winners at APSA

APSA also presented last year’s Jury Prize to the team behind LOU Ye’s winner Blind Massage, who were unable to attend the storm-blighted Brisbane ceremony last year where Cliff Curtis won the Best Actor award for The Dark Horse.

The MPA APSA Academy Film Fund is open to all members of the APSA Academy, essentially nominees for awards at previous events although 2015 nominees will be eligible once they’ve been announced. The fund usually offers support to four titles each year, each award being for US$25,000.

The bar was set rather high by one of the first films to receive support under the scheme, Asghar Farhadi’s A Separation, which went on to win the Foreign Language Oscar.

Other projects supported by the fund which have now been completed include Emmy-winning documentary No Burqas Behind Bars and Memories on Stone.

Ainsley Gardiner is a recipient of funding under the scheme, having been nominated with Boy. The award was for Bradford Haami & Maile Daugherty’s script Vaka (Canoe).

Information on the fund, including application information, is available here. This year’s APSA ceremony will run in Brisbane on 26 November.

You may also like
APSA names all award contenders
APSA selects Caught in the Web
BAPFF a goner
APSAs go Cold