Home > screeNZ News > Film > APSA teases out more nominees

APSA teases out more nominees

The Asia Pacific Screen Awards continues its dance of the seven veils, peeling off another layer to reveal this year’s 15 nominees across the Animation, Documentary and Youth Feature categories.

A record 115 titles were submitted for the three categories this year. The line-ups are judged by the Youth, Animation & Documentary Jury, chaired by critic and programmer Chris Fujiwara (USA), who’ll be joined by the Mumbai Film Festival’s Nira Benegal and Swiss documentarian Christoph Shaub.

Shahrbanoo Sadat’s Wolf and Sheep (pictured, top), produced by The Weight of Elephants producer Katja Adomeit, lines up in the Youth competition. In May, it picked up an award on its premiere in Cannes Directors Fortnight. Like Wolf and Sheep, the sole Australian title in the announcement has a strong connection for Afghanistan. George Gittoes’ doco Snow Monkey was shot in eastern Afghanistan’s Jalalabad.

Also in the doco category is Vitaly Mansky’s North Korea-set Under the Sun, which played this year’s NZIFF. In the animation line-up is Sang-ho Yeon’s Seoul Station, a srot of precursor to his currently on-release Train to Busan.

Among those more obvious selections, which have already received plaudits at major festivals elsewhere, there’s a smattering of less well-known titles and – in the animation category – disappointment that Leanne Pooley’s 25 April isn’t in the running.

The Asia Pacific Screen Awards run 24 November in Brisbane.

The finalists for the categories are:
APSA Best Animated Feature Film
Bilal, United Arab Emirates, United States of America
Manang Biring, Philippines
Savva, Russian Federation
Seoul Station (Seoul-yeok), South Korea
Sheep and Wolves (Volki i Ovtsy), Russian Federation

APSA Best Documentary Feature
City of Jade (Fei Cui Zhi Cheng), Taiwan, Republic of the Union of Myanmar
Exile (Exil), Cambodia, France
Snow Monkey, Australia, Norway
Starless Dreams (Royahaye Dame Sobh), Islamic Republic of Iran
Under the Sun (V Luchakh Solnca), Russian Federation, Germany, Czech Republic, Latvia, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea

APSA Best Youth Feature Film
Breath (Nafas), Islamic Republic of Iran
The Quest (Ringan), India
The Trap (Ottaal), India
Wolf and Sheep, Afghanistan, Denmark, France, Sweden
The World of Us (Woorideul), Republic of Korea

You may also like
APSA names all award contenders
APSA selects Caught in the Web
BAPFF a goner
APSAs go Cold