Home > screeNZ News > Film > APSAs go Cold

APSAs go Cold

Cold of Kalandar became the evening’s first multiple winner when Cevahir Şahin, Kürşat Üresin took the Cinematography gong, adding to the Young Cinema Award director Mustafa Kara took early on. It ended the evening as the only film with multiple awards, adding the Best Film gong to its haul.

The organisers made a lot of effort to celebrate this year’s 10th anniversary of the event, bringing back one of the hosts of the original edition, Anjali Rao (who co-hosted last night’s proceedings with David Wenham). Several of the jury presidents from previous editions, including Lord David Puttnam, also returned.

All up a record 303 films from 43 countries and areas threw their hats in the APSA ring this year, 135 of them in the feature narrative competition. 39 films from 19 Asia Pacific countries and areas were nominated. All award nominees are inducted into the Asia Pacific Screen Academy, which is something APSA has done a much better job of than the Academy on which it based its set-up.

Daniel Joseph Borgman’s The Weight of Elephants producer Katja Adomeit was nominated with Sharhbanoo Sadat’s Wolf & Sheep, but missed out to Lee Chang-don’s Woorideul (The World of Us).

The Asia Pacific Screen Awards ceremony runs 24 November in Brisbane. The 2016 winners were (marked ***):

Best Feature Film, 2016
*** Cold of Kalandar (Kalandar Soğuğu)
Daughter (Dokhtar)
Ember (Kor)
Muhammad: The Messenger of God (Muhammad Rasoulallah)
The Student (Uchenik)

Jury Grand Prizes
Actress Youn Yuh-jung, The Bacchus Lady (Jug-yeo-ju-neun yeo-ja)
Cinematographer Mark Lee Ping-Bin, Crosscurrent
Special Mention: actor Sunny Pawar, Lion

Best Animated Feature Film, 2016
Manang Biring

*** Seoul-yeok (Seoul Station)
Volki i ovtsy (Sheep and Wolves)

Best Youth Feature Film, 2016
Nafas (Breath)
Ottaal (The Trap)
Ringan (The Quest)
Wolf and Sheep

*** Woorideul (The World of Us)

Best Documentary Feature Film, 2016
Exil (Exile)
Fei cui zhi cheng (City of Jade)

*** Royahaye dame sobh (Starless Dreams)
Snow Monkey
V luchakh solnca (Under the Sun)

Achievement in Directing, 2016
Anurag Kashyap, Psycho Raman (Raman Raghav 2.0)
Bi Gan, Kaili Blues (Lu Bian Ye Can)
*** Feng Xiaogang, I Am Not Madame Bovary (Wo Bu Shi Pan Jinlian)
Lee Joon-ik, The Throne (Sado)
Zeki Demirkubuz, Ember (Kor)

Best Performance by an Actor, 2016
Dev Patel, Lion
Farhad Aslani, Daughter (Dokhtar)
*** Manoj Bajpayee, Aligarh
Song Kang-ho, The Throne (Sado)
Special Mention: Nawazuddin Siddiqui, Psycho Raman (Raman Raghav 2.0)

Best Performance by an Actress, 2016
Agrippina Steklova, Insight
Aslihan Gürbüz, Ember (Kor)
*** Hasmine Killip, Ordinary People (Pamilya Ordinaryo)
Natalia Pavlenkova, Zoology (Zoologiya)
Youn Yuh-jung, The Bacchus Lady (Jug-yeo-ju-neun yeo-ja)

Achievement in Cinematography, 2016
*** Cevahir Şahin, Kürşat Üresin, Cold of Kalandar (Kalandar Soğuğu)
Gorka Gómez Andreu, House of Others (Skhvisi sakhli)
Jay Oza, Psycho Raman (Raman Raghav 2.0)
Vittorio Storaro, Muhammad: The Messenger of God (Muhammad Rasoulallah)
Wang Tianxing, Kaili Blues (Lu Bian Ye Can)

Best Screenplay, 2016
Gurvinder Singh, Waryam Singh Sandhu, The Fourth Direction (Chauthi Koot)
Leena Yadav, Supratik Sen, Parched
Mehran Kashani, Daughter (Dokhtar)
*** Ryusuke Hamaguchi, Tadashi Nohara, Tomoyuki Takahashi, Happy Hour
Yang Chao, Crosscurrent (Chang Jiang Tu)

Cultural Diversity Award, under the patrionage of UNESCO, 2016
Ayam El Madina (In the Last Days of the City)
Dmitrii Davydov, Kostior na vetru (The Bonfire)
*** Hussein Hassan, Reşeba (The Dark Wind)
Mustafa Kara, Kalandar Soğuğu (Cold of Kalandar)Tamer El Said, Akher Wang Xuebo, Qingshui Li De Daozi (Knife in the Clear Water)

presented by APSA founder Des Power
Manouchehr Mohammadi

Young Cinema Award
Mustafa Kara, Cold of Kalandar
Special Mention: Bi Gan,Kaili Blues

MPA APSA Academy Film Fund
(4 awards)
Writer Emir Baigazin, The River, Kazahkstan
Writer-director Haifaa Al Mansour, Miss Camel, Saudi Arabia
Producer Joo Young Park, Morning Star, Korea
Writer-director Rolf de Heer, Mr Ward’s Incredible Journey, Australia

You may also like
APSA names all award contenders
APSA selects Caught in the Web
BAPFF a goner
APSA names 2016 line-up