Home > screeNZ News > Film > Archie wins Someday challenge

Archie wins Someday challenge

The Outlook for Someday matched its winners with its awards at a ceremony in Auckland on Thursday evening. Hanelle Harris and Te Radar handled the hosting duties, with filmmaker Paora Joseph opening the ceremony as te reo and tikanga Maori consultant.

The sustainability-focused film challenge for young filmmakers, which began in 2007, is open to people aged up to 24. This year’s edition conducted 37 workshops around the the country and attracted 75 entries.

Hollie Cohen’s Archie took the NZ On Air Standout WInner award, along with the Villainesse Young Women Film-makers Award. It seemed appropriate, therefore, that the final speech of the evening came from another “young woman”, PM Jacinda Ardern.

The PM said, “Messages like yours around sustainability are incredibly important if we’re going to reach some of the goals that we have around making sure our environment is pristine and making sure we lead the world on issues like climate change.”

Cohen’s prize package includes a mentorship with producer Kerry Warkia, recently named Independent Producer of the Year. Conveniently, Warkia and Cohen live in Taranaki.

Among the Someday challenge’s returning participants, 16 year-old Sarah Ridsdale collected her fourth Someday award this year. Last year her Dog Island Motu Piu won the top gong. This year she was a winner with Subsistence to Sustainability, which took The Wireless Storytelling Award.

Sarah’s younger brother Sam had a film shortlisted at TOFS in 2013, and this year (at the ripe old age of 12) scored his own bragging rights with Clever Trevor.

As well as Sarah Ridsdale, other returning winners were 2016 winners Mackenzie Reid and Philly Mete Kingi, who respectively win this year with What Is Happiness? and Inanga.

Neihana Te Hau O Te Rangi Lowe completed a hat-trick this year, winning the Māori Television Whakatipuranga Award with Tūrangawaewae. He won in 2015 with Home and last year with Warning.

Auckland University student, Michael Jessup, has entered eight films over four years, and was this year rewarded with two wins. MADal stream Cleanup, made with Jenny Ann Sweatman, won the  Ministry of Youth Development Community Participation Award.

Jessup’s solo effort Penguin Boxes took the Photogear Cinematic Award.

Hollie Cohen’s Standout Winner at this year’s The Outlook for Someday, Archie

Three filmmakers shortlisted in previous years got to step up to the podium this year. Brooke Waterson (shortlisted in 2014), awarded this year for S.O.S Save Our Seas. Micah Winiata (shortlisted in 2010), now a winner with Te Ara Whakamua. Lea Fini, shortlisted last year, was a winner this year with The Surface.

The ceremony marked the end of another cycle for TOFS but the second edition of film funding initiative, Someday Stories, is getting under way. Someday Stories is open for submissions until 14 December.

The prizes include entry of each film into at least one international film festival in 2018, a strategy that’s produced good results in recent years with a number of films going on to pick up recognition and awards internationally.



This year’s The Outlook for Someday winners were:

New Zealand On Air Standout Winner Award
Archie by Hollie Cohen (17)

Stuff Audience Award
Hayden’s Time Adventure by a team from Putaruru College (13-14) in Waikato

New Zealand Film Commission Film-making Achievement Award
Te Ara Whakamua by Micah Winiata (19) from Tauranga

The Adam & Eve Show Secondary School Film-makers Award
Inanga (Whitebait) by Philly Kingi (16), Whakatupuranga Productions, from Ōtaki

Auckland Council Film-maker Award
The Right Bin by Geoff Chen (15) from Auckland

The Coconet.tv Pasifika Award
S.O.S Save Our Seas by Brooke Waterson (22) from Auckland

Department of Conservation Big Picture Award
small CHANGES by a team aged 9-11 from Waitākiri Primary School in Christchurch

Enviroschools Sustainable Future Award
Plastic Straw Free Rangiora by a team aged from 10-12 from North Loburn School in Canterbury

Karma Cola People and Planet Award
See Beyond The Label by Jodi Melody (22) and Sarah-Louise Crawford (22) from Wellington

The Lowdown Award
What Is Happiness? by Mackenzie Reid (14) from Otago

Māori Television Whakatipuranga Award
Tūrangawaewae by a team aged 18-21 from Auckland

Ministry of Youth Development Community Participation Award
MADal stream Cleanup by Michael Jessup (20) and Jenny Ann Sweatman (19) from Auckland

Phantom Billstickers Media Empowerment Award
The Truth of Technology by a team from Baradene College (14-15) in Auckland

Photogear Cinematic Award
Penguin Boxes by Michael Jessup (20) from Auckland

Rockstock Sustainable Lifestyle Award
Clever Trevor by Sam Ridsdale (12) from Palmerston North

Stephens Lawyers Young Voices For Change Award
Hayden’s Time Adventure by a team from Putaruru College (13-14) in Waikato

Tearaway Secondary School Performance Award
The Surface by Lèa Fini (14) from Waiheke

Upstart Magazine Primary/Intermediate School Performance Award
The Schoolyard Bullies by Jordan Shanks (11) and Blake Cousens (11) from Somerfield School in Christchurch

Villainesse Young Women Film-makers Award
Archie by Hollie Cohen (17)

Weta Digital Media Award
Wai Parahanga byJosh Boag (16) from New Plymouth

What Now Primary/Intermediate School Film-makers Award
Environmental Defenders by a team from Pomaria Road School (9-11) in Auckland

The Wireless Storytelling Award
Subsistence to Sustainability by Sarah Ridsdale (16) from Palmerston North