Home > screeNZ News > Film > Berinale begins 2017 rollout

Berinale begins 2017 rollout

The 2017 Berlinale has announced its first competition titles, getting the ball rolling on a bunch of announcements that will continue until mid-January.

10 competition titles have been named, along with a selection of out-of-competition titles for a number of programmes including the retro and re-issue line-ups.
The competition titles revealed have a strongly Euro skew, with only one American title hailing wholly from outside the continent. Chile, Lebanon and Senegal get a look-in as partners on co-production titles. All bar one of the competition titles are having their world premieres at the Berlinale.

Several titles are from filmmakers with previous titles selected in Berlin. Sally Potter’s The Party (pictured, top) features Timothy Spall, recently here shooting Miranda Harcourt & Stuart McKenzie’s adaptation of Margaret Mahy’s The Changeover in Christchurch.

Among the other titles announced is one from the vault, a restorewd version of 1972 German mini-series Acht Stunden sind kein Tag (Eight Hours Don’t Make a Day), made by the late Rainer Werner Fassbinder.

Other early announcements out of Berlin include the appointment of the three filmmakers who’ll make up the short film jury: Kimberly Drew (USA), Christian Jankowski (Germany), and Carlos Núñez (Chile). The Berlinale has also named its president for the competition jury: Dutch director Paul Verhoven, known internationally for titles including RoboCop (1987) and Total Recall (1990), the (then) controversial Basic Instinct in 1992 and most recently the morally ambiguous Elle, for which Isabelle Huppert has collected a rash of nominations and awards.

The Berlinale competition titles announced so far are:
Teströl és lélekröl (On Body and Soul), Ildiko Enyedi, Hungary
Ana, mon amour, Călin Peter Netzer, Romania / Germany / France
Beuys (Documentary), Andres Veiel, Germany
Colo, Teresa Villaverde, Portugal / France
The Dinner, Oren Moverman, USA
Félicité, Alain Gomis, France / Senegal / Belgium / Germany / Lebanon
The Party, Sally Potter, United Kingdom
Pokot (Spoor), Agnieszka Holland, Poland / Germany / Czech Republic / Sweden / Slovak Republic
Toivon tuolla puolen (The Other Side of Hope), Aki Kaurismäki, Finland
Una Mujer Fantástica (A Fantastic Woman), Sebastián Lelio, Chile / Germany / USA / Spain

You may also like
Berlinale names 2017 winners
Berlinale premiere for One Thousand Ropes
Filling up the Berlinale
Berlinale adds doco prize