Home > screeNZ News > Cannes 2012 done and dusted

Cannes 2012 done and dusted

Cannes’ various juries revealed their picks at Sunday night’s closing bash, almost exclusively rewarding European endeavours. Having won the Palme d’Or with his last Cannes-selected film, The White Ribbon (2009), Michael Haneke made it two from two with Amour.

A couple non-European entries won prizes, otherwise it was an entirely European affair, reflecting the Euro-centric nature of the jurors and the selection of films in competition. The unofficial accompaniment to Cannes, Directors Fortnight, offered a broader international selection than the three official competitions.

NZ’s only film screening in-competition, Zia Mandviwalla’s short Night Shift, missed out on the short film Palme d’Or to Rezan Yesilbas’ Sessiz be-deng (Silent).

In an unusual twist, the festival’s two Best Actress prizes (in the main competition and Un Certain Regard) found joint winners. More surprisingly, the joint winners of the prize in the main competition, Romanians Cosmina Stratan and Cristina Flutur, were – as one reporter put it – on absolutely nobody’s radar until the prize was announced.

Palme d’Or
Love (Amour)
dir. Michael Haneke

Grand Prix
dir. Matteo Garrone [Italy]

Best Actress
(joint winners)
Cosmina Stratan & Cristina Flutur for Beyond The Hills

Best Actor
Mads Mikkelsen for The Hunt (Jagden)

Best Direction
Carlos Reygadas for Post Tenebras Lux

Script Prize
Christian Mungiu for Beyond The Hills

Jury Prize
The Angel’s Share dir. Ken Loach

Camera d’Or
Beasts of the Southern Wild dir. Benh Zeitlin

Palme d’Or Short Film
Silent (Sessiz be-deng)
dir. Rezan Yesilbas

Main Prize

Despues de Lucia
dir. Michel Franco

Special Jury Prize
Le Grand Soir
dir. Benoît Delepine & Gustave Kervern

Best Actress
(joint winners)
Suzanne Clement for Laurence Anyways
Emilie Dequenne for À perdre la raison

Special Distinction
Children of Sarajevo (Djeca)
dir. Aida Begic

Grand Prize

Aqui Y Alla
dir. Antonio Méndez Esparza

Visionary Prize
Sofia’s Last Ambulance
dir. Ilian Metev

SACD Prize
God’s Neighbors
dir. Meni Yaesh

ACID/CCAS Distribution Support
Los Salvajes
dir: Alejandro Fadel

Discovery Prize

Un Dimanche Matin
dir. Damien Manivel

Special Distinction
O Duplo
dir. Juliana Rojas

Canal+ Award
Circle Line
dir. Shin Su-won

You may also like
NZ in Cannes 2017
Cannes names its 2017 winners
Critics Week rounds out Cannes line-ups
Directors Fortnight looks mostly close to home