Home > screeNZ News > Cannes 2013 digs deep for jury head

Cannes 2013 digs deep for jury head

Steven Spielberg has been announced as the president of the Cannes jury this year, almost 40 years on from his only win at the festival.

Spielberg won a Cannes screenwriting award (shared with two co-writers) for his 1974 Sugarland Express. Two of his subsequent features have played at Cannes: E.T.: The Extra-Terrestrial in 1982 and The Color Purple in 1986.

Spielberg has recently directed Lincoln, which went two for 12 at this week’s Oscar ceremony, and the Peter Jackson-produced Adventures of Tintin.

The director is one of the more commercial choices for jury head in recent years.

Jane Campion will lead the festival’s Cinéfondation and Short Film Jury. Campion has a somewhat better track record at the festival than Spielberg, with a short film Palme d’or for Peel (1986) and a Palme d’or for The Piano (1993), which also delieverd the best actress award to Holly Hunter for her performance.

You may also like
NZ in Cannes 2017
Cannes names its 2017 winners
Critics Week rounds out Cannes line-ups
Directors Fortnight looks mostly close to home