Home > screeNZ News > Film > Cannes 2015 finds winners

Cannes 2015 finds winners

Cannes has done its dash for another year, handing out the final gongs at its closing ceremony early Monday NZ time. Jacques Audiard’s Dheepan took the Palme d’Or.



Critical consensus was that the field was an open one this year, with few clear favourites and only Gus van Sant’s The Sea of Trees receiving a particularly bilious reception.

Joel and Ethan Coen led the official competition jury. Cannes operates a “gentlemens’ agreement”, which ensures that no film in official competition is awarded more than one prize by the official jury.

The Grand Prix winner in the official competition, László Nemes’ Son of Saul, did leave with a few gongs. The film also won the FIPRESCI Critics Award for the official competition, and the festival’s sole technical prize, the Vulcan Award, which went to sound engineer Tamas.

The Un Certain Regard Jury was led by Isabella Rossellini, whose mother Ingrid Bergman was the festival’s poster image this year. Un Certain Regard handed out its prizes a day ahead of the closing ceremony.

The winners at Cannes were:

Palme d’Or

Dheepan, Jacques Audiard

Grand Prix
Son of Saul, László Nemes
Best Director Award
Hou Hsiao-Hsien, The Assassin
Jury Prize
The Lobster, Yorgos Lanthimos
Best Actress Award
(Joint winners) 
Rooney Mara, Carol by Todd Haynes
Emmanuelle Bercot, Mon Roi by Maïwenn
Best Actor Award
Vincent Lindon, The Measure of a Man, Stéphane Brizé
Best Screenplay Award
Michel Franco, Chronic

The director and French artist, Agnès Varda, received an honorary Palme d’Or for her collected works.

Short Films – Competition
Palme d’Or   
Waves ’98, Ely DAGHER

Un Certain Regard Award
Hrútar (Rams), Grímur Hákonarson

Jury Prize
Zvizdan (The High Sun), Dalibor Matanić

Best Director
Kiyoshi Kurosawa for Kishibe No Tabi (Journey To The Shore)

Un Certain Talent Prize
Comoara (Treasure), Corneliu Porumboiu

Promising Future
Masaan, Neeraj Ghaywan

Ex Aequo
Nahid, Ida Panahandeh

Land and Shade by César Augusto Acevedo

First Prize

Share, Pippa Bianco

Second Prize
Lost Queens, Ignacio Juricic Merillán

Third Prize
(Joint winners)
The Return Of Erkin, Maria Guskova
Victor XX, Ian Garrido López

The Jury awarded the Vulcan Award of the Technical Artist to:
Tamas ZANYI, sound engineer, for the outstanding contribution to Son of Saul by László Nemes.

FIPRESCI Critics Awards
Parallel Sections

Paulina, Santiago Mitre (presented in Critics’ Week)

Un Certain Regard
Masaan, Neeraj Ghaywan

In Competition
Son of Saul, László Nemes

You may also like
From Cannes to NZIFF
Cannes rolls out 2017 line-up
Mad Max for President!
Critics Week winners