Home > screeNZ News > Film > Cannes names 2016 winners

Cannes names 2016 winners

Ken Loach took his second Palme d’Or with feature I, Daniel Blake, following his win 10 years ago with The Wind That Shakes The Barley. Accepting, Loach spoke as passionately as he always has about the dangers of extreme wealth and lack of power, of the risks of disenfranchising parts of society and the irony of a film about poverty winning an award in such opulent surroundings.

Houda Benyamina’s Divines won the Camera d’Or, adding to the Special Mention for the SACD award for a French-language film awarded at the Directors Fortnight ceremony.

The official competition jury made a minor break with tradition in awarding two prizes to the same film, something Cannes does sparingly. Forushande (The Salesman) took the Screenplay and Actor awards, Asghar Farhadi taking the former, Shahab Hosseini the latter.

The Best Director award was pronounced a tie between Cristian Mungiu and Olivier Assayas. The Best Actress category, which many observers regarded as the strongest, produced a single winner: Jaclyn Jose in Brillante Mendoza’s Ma’ Rosa.

In the Directors Fortnight selection, Shahrbanoo Sadat’s Wolf and Sheep took the Art Cinema Award. The film was produced by Katja Adomeit, the Danish producer on Daniel Joseph Borgman’s unofficial Denmark-NZ co-production The Weight of Elephants. The film was pitched at Cannes Cinéfondation Residency programme in 2013, and last year won awards and support from Hong Kong’s HAF project market and Busan’s Asian Cinema Fund.

The Cannes Film Festival ran 11 – 21 May. The winners of the various competitions were:

Official Competition
Palme D’Or

I, Daniel Blake, Ken Loach

Grand Prix
Juste La Fin Du Monde (It’s Only The End Of The World), Xavier Dolan

Best Director Ex Æquo
, Personal Shopper

Best Screenplay
Asghar Farhadi, Forushande (The Salesman)

Jury Prize
American Honey, Andrea Arnold

Best Performance By An Actress
Jaclyn Jose in Ma’ Rosa dir. Brillante Mendoza

Best Performance By An Actor
Shahab Hosseini in Forushande (The Salesman) dir. Asghar Farhadi

Vulcan Award of the Technical Artist
Seong-Hie Ryu, for Artistic Direction of Mademoiselle (The Handmaiden) dir. Park Chan-Wook

Short Film Palme d’Or
Timecode, Juanjo Gimenez
Special Mention: A Moça Que Dançou Com O Diabo (The Girl Who Danced With The Devil), João Paulo Miranda Maria

Caméra d’Or
for a first feature from the Official, Critics Week or Directors’ Fortnight programme
Divines, Houda Benyamina (from Directors Fortnight)
Un Certain Regard
Prize Of Un Certain Regard

Hymyilevä Mies (The Happiest Day In The Life Of Olli Mäki), Juho Kuosmanen

Jury Prize
Fuchi Ni Tatsu (Harmonium), Fukada Kôji

Best Director
Matt Ross, Captain Fantastic

Best Screenplay
Delphine Coulin & Muriel Coulin, Voir Du Pays (The Stopover)

Special Prize Un Certain Regard
La Tortue Rouge (The Red Turtle), Michael Dudok De Wit
Directors Fortnight
Feature film awards
Art Cinema Award

Wolf & Sheep, Shahrbanoo Sadat

SACD Award to a French-language film
The Together Project, Solveig Anspach
Special mention: Divines, Houda Benyamina

The Europa Cinemas Label to a European feature film
Mercenary, dir. Sacha Wolff

Short film awards
Illy Prize to a short film

Chasse Royal, Lise Akoka, Romane Gueret
Special mention: The Beast, dir. Miroslav Sikavica
Critics Week
Nespresso Grand Prize

Mimosas, Oliver Laxe

France 4 Visionary Award
for a first or second feature film
Albüm, Mehmet Can Mertoğlu

Leica Cine Discovery Prize For Short Film
Prenjak: In the Year of the Monkey, Wregas Bhanuteja

Awards Given By Partners
Gan Foundation Award For Distribution

Sophie Dulac, French Distributor for One Week And A Day (Shavua Ve Yom) by Asaph Polonsky

SACD Award
Davy Chou And Claire Maugendre, co-writers of Diamond Island

CANAL+ Award for Short Film
L’enfance d’un Chef, Antoine de Bary
Official Competition

Toni Erdmann, Maren Ade

Un Certain Regard
Dogs, Bogdan Mirica

Parallel Sections
Raw, Julia Ducournau

Ecumenical Jury Prize
It’s Only the End of the World, Xavier Dolan
1st Prize

Anna, Or Sinai

2nd Prize
In The Hills, Hamid Ahmadi

3rd Prize
A Nyalintás Nesze (The Noise Of Licking), Nadja Andrasev
La Culpa, Probablemente (The Guilt, Probably), Michael Labarca

You may also like
NZ in Cannes 2017
Cannes names its 2017 winners
Critics Week rounds out Cannes line-ups
Directors Fortnight looks mostly close to home