Home > screeNZ News > Film > Cannes names jurors

Cannes names jurors

The previously-announced joint presidents Joel and Ethan Coen will be joined by seven others to complete the jury for this year’s festival. Coming closer to sexual equality here than anywhere else in the festival programme, the full jury comprises four men and five women.

Cannes jury members

Back row, from left: Sophie Marceau, Joel and Ethan Coen, Sienna Miller
Front row, from left: Rokia Traoré, Jake Gyllenhaal, Rossy de Palma, Guillermo del Toro, Xavier Dolan

The jurors will be actresses Rossy de Palma (Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown, Tie Me Up! Tie Me Down! and Cannes selection Broken Embraces), Sophie Marceau (Braveheart,The World Is Not Enough, Don’t Look Back) and Sienna Miller (Layer Cake , Foxcatcher, American Sniper); actor Jake Gyllenhaal (Donnie Darko, Brokeback Mountain, Nightcrawler); musician Rokia Traoré; and directors Xavier Dolan (Un Certain Regard selections Heartbeats, Laurence Anyways and Cannes jury prize winner Mommy) and Guillermo del Toro (Hellboy, Cannes-selected Pan’s Labyrinth and Pacific Rim).

The Cannes Film Festival 13 – 24 May and Marché du Film 13 – 22 May. Directors Fortnight runs 14 – 24 MayCritics Week runs 14 – 22 May.

You may also like
NZ in Cannes 2017
Cannes names its 2017 winners
Critics Week rounds out Cannes line-ups
Directors Fortnight looks mostly close to home