Home > screeNZ News > Film > Cannes names jury members

Cannes names jury members

Cannes announced Jane Campion as jury head some weeks ago. She’s now joined by eight jury members, five of whom have departed previous editions of Cannes clutching silverware.

Campion herself is a two-time winner at Cannes, awarded the Palme d’Or (Best Short Film) in 1986 for An Exercise in Discipline – Peel and the Palme d’Or in 1993 for The Piano.

Joining the jury are previous awardees Mexican actor Gael Garcia Bernal (Y Tu Mama Tambien, Babel, The Motorcycle Diaries), who won the Chopard Trophy at Cannes in 2003 for ‘Male Revelation’; US director Sofia Coppola, twice a competitor in Cannes (with last year’s The Bling Ring and 2006’s Marie Antoinette). Coppola won the Cinema Prize of the French National Education System for Antoinette, but missed out on the Palme d’Or.

Cannes Jury 2014

The class of 2014: (top, from left) Jane Campion, Zhang-ke JIA, Willem Dafoe, Leila Hatami; (bottom, from left) Carole Bouquet, Gael Garcia Bernal, JEON Do-yeon, Nicholas Winding Refn, Sofia Coppola

South Korean actress JEON Do-yeon won Best Actress at Cannes in 2007 for her turn in LEE Chang-dong’s Secret Sunshine, and returned to Cannes in 2010 in IM Sang-soo’s remake of Ki-young KIM’s 1960 Korean classic The Housemaid. Chinese director JIA Zhangke is a three-time Palme d’Or nominee, for 2002’s Unknown Pleasures, 2008’s 24 City and 2013’s A Touch of Sin, for which JIA was awarded Cannes’ screenplay gong. Danish director Nicolas Winding Refn was a Palme d’Or nominee last year with Only God Forgives. He had better success with a previous film starring Ryan Gosling, winning Cannes Best Director award in 2011 with Drive.

Not previously awarded by Cannes, but announced for this year’s jury, are French actress Carole Bouquet, who’ll be remembered by older readers for her turn in 1981 Bond flick For Your Eyes Only and by even older art students as half of Luis Bunuel’s Obscure Object of Desire in 1977; and US actor Willem Dafoe, who might not be a Cannes winner but is currently playing one: the eponymous two-time Cannes winner (for 1958’s Giovani Mariti and 1974’s 1001 Nights/Arabian Nights) in Abel Ferrara’s Pasolini.

Iranian actress Leila Hatami is best known for her portrayal of Leila in the Oscar-winning Nader & Simin: A Separation, which played well over 40 international festivals – but not Cannes.

The jury gets free tickets to the 18 films in competition, and will announce the winners at a cermony on 24 May. The Cannes Film Festival runs 14 – 25 May.

You may also like
NZ in Cannes 2017
Cannes names its 2017 winners
Critics Week rounds out Cannes line-ups
Directors Fortnight looks mostly close to home