Home > screeNZ News > Film > Cannes starts to open the goodie bags

Cannes starts to open the goodie bags

This weekend Cannes comes to an end in the traditional manner, handing out prizes in a co-ordinated timetable of ceremonies. First out of the blocks were awards from the market, Cinéfondation and Critics Week.

On the day that our own documentary festival was getting under way, Cannes Market’s Doc Corner Brunch handed out its Doc Alliance Selection Award. Juried by critics, Andre Valentim Almeida’s A Campanha Do Creoula took the prize.

A Campanha Do Creoula

A Campanha Do Creoula

At a festival where conspicuous extravagance is the old and new black, the World Bank Group threw its support behind Connect4Climate’s new filmmaking competition, Action4Climate+. Jury members will include Atom Egoyan, Bernardo Bertolucci, Fernando Meirelles, Mira Nair and Wim Wenders.

The Cinéfondation and Short Films Jury headed by Abbas Kiarostami and including Mahamat-Saleh Haroun, Noémie Lvovsky, Daniela Thomas and Joachim Trier, has awarded the 2014 Cinéfondation Prizes during a ceremony held in the Buñuel Theatre, followed by the screening of the winning films. This year’s Cinéfondation Selection took 16 student films from 1,631 from 457 film schools and today awarded the top three.

First prize winner Annie Silverstein (Skunk) is now €15,000 better off. For those who read Jane Campion’s recent comments on the film industry’s “inherent sexism”, the Cinéfondation announcement states that Ms Silverstein “is also guaranteed that his first feature film will be presented at the Festival de Cannes”.

Placing second for €11,250 was Atsuko Hirayanagi’s Oh Lucy!. Joint third prize winners were announced: Fulvio Risuleo’s Lievito Madre and Daisy Jacob’s The Bigger Picture.


The Tribe: deaf, dumb, and full of
bad ideas

At Critics Week, The Tribe took three of the four awards available to features, while the shorts prizes were split between two titles.

The Critics Week winners were:

Grand Prix Nespresso, France 4 Visionary Award & Gan Foundation Support for Distribution Award
The Tribe, Myroslav Slaboshpytskiy

Hope, Boris Lojkine

The Sony CineAlta Discovery Prize
A Ciambra, Jonas Carpignano

Canal+ Award
Crocodile, Gaëlle Denis

You may also like
NZ in Cannes 2017
Cannes names its 2017 winners
Critics Week rounds out Cannes line-ups
Directors Fortnight looks mostly close to home