Home > News from Elsewhere > Media Releases > CBB cautiously welcomes Minister for Broadcasting

CBB cautiously welcomes Minister for Broadcasting

The Coalition for Better Broadcasting cautiously welcomes the appointment of Amy Adams as the new Minister of Broadcasting.

“We welcome the fact that broadcasting is now in the hands of a senior Cabinet Minister who can bring her expertise and that of the related government ministries into broadcasting policy,” says CBB Chief Executive, Myles Thomas. “This will be a Broadcasting Minister who can speak to policy that she has had a role in formulating.

“The CBB also welcomes the fact that the same Minister holds the portfolios for both Broadcasting and Communications.

“We have been calling for convergence of telecommunications and broadcasting regulation, and we hope this will be a step closer with this appointment.

The CBB agrees that broadcasting legislation needs to be reviewed. Legislation should recognise that broadcasting and internet media are not only converging but competing for customers. Audiences, industry and the many diverse participants need consistency in the regulations.

“As broadcasting moves into technologies that are traditionally considered to be telecommunications, it is appropriate that the mandate of the Telecommunications Regulator will be extended to cover broadcasting as well. It’s important that both the Ministry for Business, Innovation and Employment and the Ministry for Culture and Heritage continue to provide policy advice.”

“A thorough and competent review panel needs representatives from industry/officials/public users, to produce a consultation paper that outlines options for a single regulator, the legislative scope and regulation enforcement,” says Thomas.

“The CBB looks forward to helping build an efficient and effective system that recognises the needs of New Zealanders as citizens and consumers, and enables balanced growth in NZ media while safeguarding New Zealanders from online bullying and defamation, and preserving our freedom of expression.”