Home > screeNZ News > Film > Flickerfest burns bright

Flickerfest burns bright

Oscar-qualifying Flickerfest had its 24th outing in Sydney on the weekend, handing out gongs to films including one which will vie with Show Me Shorts winner for Academy attention.


Grey Bull

Among the locals, Eddy Bell’s Grey Bull, shot by Kiwi cinematographer Callan Green and already a winner at last year’s Sydney Film Festival, took the Best film gong and the listing among Oscar hopefuls.

International shorts compete in three Academy-accredited shorts categories, live action, animated, and documentary. Atsuko Hirayanagi’s Oh Lucy! won the live action gong. A film that seems to hold many passports, it was a Cinefondation prize-winner in Cannes last May, hailing from Singapore. Later this month it will compete in the US Narrative competition at Sundance as an American title. For Flickerfest, it was classed as a Japan-USA co-production.

Oh Lucy!

Oh Lucy!

The Flickerfest winners are:

International Competition Award Winners
Flickerfest Award for Best International Short Film
(Academy® Accredited)
Oh Lucy!, Atsuko Hirayanagi (Japan/USA)
Special Jury Prize – Best International Short Film
Bad Hunter, Sahim Omar Kalifa (Belgium)

Yoram Gross Award for Best International Short Animation (Academy® Accredited)
Symphony No. 42, Réka Bucsi & József Fülöp (Hungary)

Flickerfest Award for Best Short Documentary Film (Academy® Accredited)
Shipwreck, Morgan Knibbe (The Netherlands)
Highly Commended For Documentary
Love In A Time Of March Madness, Melissa Johnson

International Greenflicks Competition Award Winners
Flickerfest Greenflicks Award for Best Environmental Short Film

Dusts (Poussieres), Daniel Metge (France)
Highly Commended For Greenflicks
If You Love Your Children, Sanjay Patel (Canada)

SAE Creative Media Institute Award for Best Use of Digital Technology
The Bigger Picture, Daisy Jacobs (UK)

Australian Competition Award Winners:
Virgin Australia Award for Best Australian Short Film
(Academy® Accredited)
Grey Bull, Eddy Bell And Khoby Rowe
Special Jury Prize
The Witching Hour, Carl Firth

Canon Award for Best Direction in an Australian Short Film
Snowblind, Sean Kruck

Yoram Gross Award for Best Australian Short Animation
Bush Mechanics, Jason Japaljarri Woods & Jonathan Daw

Miller Australia Award for Best Cinematography in an Australian Short Film
Caravan, Cinematographer: Matt Wood

Avid Award for Best Editing in an Australian Short Film
Breath, Editor: Matt Orzeski