Home > screeNZ News > Film > Gaylene Preston to select NZ’s Best finalists

Gaylene Preston to select NZ’s Best finalists

Gaylene Preston will be this year’s Guest Selector for the New Zealand International Film Festival’s (NZIFF’s) New Zealand’s Best short film competition.

Previous Guest Selectors have included Lee Tamahori (2016), Christine Jeffs (2015), Andrew Adamson (2014), Alison Maclean (2013) and Roger Donaldson (2012). Last year the competition was won by Yamin Tun’s Wait.
Preston’s upsoming My Year With Helen was among the first titles announced for this year’s NZIFF.

This year’s NZ’s Best finalists will be eligible for three prizes: the $5000 Madman Entertainment Best Short Film Award; the $3000 Wallace Friends of the Civic Award; and the Audience Choice Award (25% share of box office takings from NZ’s Best screenings in the four main centres).



The NZIFF will release its full programme on 27 June for Auckland, and 30 June for Wellington. NZIFF starts in Auckland on 20 July and in Wellington from 28 July.

You may also like
Waiting named NZ’s Best
Waiting for Toronto
Hokianga Film Project short for NZIFF
Script to Screen to present TALKS at NZIFF