Home > screeNZ News > Film > Golden Horse lines up nominees

Golden Horse lines up nominees

Berlinale winner Black Coal, Thin Ice, seen here in the NZIFF, leads the nominations with eight nods, for Best Film, Director, Actor, Actress, Original Screenplay, Cinematography, Art Direction, and Editing.

Black Coal, Thin Ice

Black Coal, Thin Ice, featuring lead acting nominees Gwei Lun-Mei (l) and Liao Fan (r)

Lou Ye’s Blind Massage took seven nominations. Hong Kong films were the next most-nominated: Benny Chan’s Hong Kong title The White Storm received six, along with two Taiwanese titles: Umin Boya’s Kano and Doze Niu’s Paradise In Service.

The producer of those titles, Jimmy Huang, (also 2011’s Warriors of the Rainbow: Seediq Bale) was named the winner of the non-juried Outstanding Taiwanese Filmmaker of the Year award.

The Golden Horse Awards received nominations for 138 features, 186 shorts, 35 documentary films, and five animated features. No animated features were considered worth a nod, so there’ll be no gong presented in that category this year.

Actress Joan CHEN heads the jury, with actors Stephen FUNG and Aaron KWOK, editor CHEN Po-wen, art director HWARNG Wern-ying and director Stanley KWAN.

The Golden Horse Awards ceremony will be held in Taipei on 22 November. The 2014 Golden Horse Film Award nominations are:

Best Feature Film
A Fool
Black Coal, Thin Ice
The Golden Era
Blind Massage

Best Animation Feature

Best Documentary
The Walkers
The Last Moose Of Aoluguya

Best Short Film
The Free Man
The Hammer And Sickle Are Sleeping
The Great Buddha

Best Director
Midi Z, Ice Poison
Diao Yinan, Black Coal, Thin Ice
Ann Hui, The Golden Era
Wang Xiaoshuai, Red Amnesia
Lou Ye, Blind Massage

Best Leading Actor
Chen Jian-Bin, A Fool
Sean Lau, The White Storm
Liao Fan, Black Coal, Thin Ice
Masatoshi Nagase, Kano
Chang Chen, Brotherhood of Blades

Best Leading Actress
Chen Shiang Chyi, Exit
Gwei Lun-Mei, Black Coal, Thin Ice
Gong Li, Coming Home
Tang Wei, The Golden Era
Zhao Wei, Dearest

Best Supporting Actor
Wang Xue Bing, A Fool
Ng Man Tat, Aberdeen
Chen Jian-Bin, Paradise In Service
Leon Dai, (Sex) Appeal
Jin Shi Jie, Brotherhood of Blades

Best Supporting Actress
Hao Lei, The Golden Era
Paw Hee Ching, Insanity
Lang, Tsu–Yun, Sweet Alibis
Chen Yi-Han, Paradise In Service
Wan Qian, Paradise In Service

Best New Director
Chen Jian-Bin, A Fool
Chienn Hsiang, Exit
Xin Yu-Kun, The Coffin in the Mountain
Umin Boya, Kano
Li Xiaofeng, Nezha

Best New Performer
Ann Hsu, Design 7 Love
Zhang Huiwen, Coming Home
Zhang Lei, Blind Massage
Tsao Yu-Ning, Kano
Matthew Wei Han-Ting, Meeting Dr. Sun

Best Original Screenplay
Xin Yu-Kun, Feng Yuanliang, The Coffin in the Mountain
Diao Yinan, Black Coal, Thin Ice
Li Qiang, The Golden Era
Wang Xiaoshuai, Fang Lei, Li Fei, Red Amnesia
Yee Chih-Yen, Meeting Dr. Sun

Best Adapted Screenplay
Chen Jian-Bin (A Fool)
Chan Fai-Hung, Kong Ho-Yan, Fruit Chan, The Midnight After
Zou Jingzhi, Coming Home
Ma Yingli, Blind Massage
Li Xiaofeng, Wangmu, Pan Yu, Nezha

Best Cinematography
Dong Jinsong, Black Coal, Thin Ice
Du Jie, No Man’s Land
Zeng Jian, Blind Massage
Mark Lee Ping Bing, (Sex) Appeal
Zhang Ji, North By Northeast

Best Visual Effects
Hi-Organic Motion Graphic Studio, Design 7 Love
Ng Yuen-Fai, Chas Chau Chi-Shing, Tam Kai-Kwan, The White Storm
Tong Ka-Wai, Ken Law, Lucky Tracy Hannah, The Midnight After
Wook Kim, Park Young Soo, Young Detective Dee: Rise Of The Sea Dragon
Henri Wong, Hugo Kwan, Walter Wong, As The Light Goes Out

Best Art Direction
Kenneth Mak, Young Detective Dee: Rise Of The Sea Dragon
Liu Qiang, Black Coal, Thin Ice
Fu Yingzhang, Uncle Victory
Hao Yi, No Man’s Land
Huang Mei Ching, Paradise In Service

Best Makeup & Costume Design
Bruce Yu, Lee Pik-Kwan, Young Detective Dee: Rise Of The Sea Dragon
Hao Yi, No Man’s Land
Amanda Deng, Lin Xin-Yi, Tu Mei-Ling, Kano
Fang Chi Luen, Li-Wen Hsu, Chia-Lin Kao, Paradise In Service
Liang Tingting, Brotherhood of Blades

Best Action Choreography
Li Chung Chi, The White Storm
Yuen Bun, Lin Feng, Young Detective Dee: Rise Of The Sea Dragon
Jack Wong, As The Light Goes Out
Donnie Yen, Stephen Tung Wai, Yuen Bun, Yan Hua, Kung Fu Jungle
Lin Sang, Brotherhood of Blades

Original Music Award For Best Film
Owen Wang, Annie Lo, Nieh Lin Chieh, The Twelve Nights
Kawai Kenji, Young Detective Dee: Rise Of The Sea Dragon
Qigang Chen, Coming Home
Nathan Wang, Dong Dongdong, Jiang Yongjun, No Man’s Land
He Miaoshu, North By Northeast

Best Original Film Song Award
Heart Shines For A Lifetime, from The White Storm
Lyric : Rubberband, Tim Lui
Composer : Rubberband
Performer : Rubberband
Destination, from Aberdeen
Lyric : Wyman Wong
Composer : Jason Choi, Anthony Wong
Performer : Anthony Wong
Mr. Bird, from KANO
Lyric : Umin Boya
Composer : Suming.Rupi
Performer : The Cast
Happiness, from (Sex) Appeal
Lyric : Wawa
Composer : David Tao
Performer : David Tao
The Road We Pass, from The Continent
Lyric : Pu Shu, Han Han
Composer : Pu Shu
Performer : Pu Shu

Best Film Editing
Yau Chi Wai (H.K.S.E.), The White Storm
Yang Hongyu, Black Coal, Thin Ice
Du Yuan, No Man’s Land
Kong Jinlei, Jolin Zhu, Blind Massage
Zhu Li Yun, Tu Yi Ran, Brotherhood of Blades

Best Sound Effects
Kinson Tsang, Yiu Chun-Hin, Chow Yuk-Lun, The White Storm
Tao Jing, Coming Home
Fu Kang, Red Amnesia
Fu Kang, Blind Massage
Tu Duu-Chih, Paradise In Service

Outstanding Taiwanese Filmmaker Of The Year
Jimmy Huang

Lifetime Achievement Award
Tian Feng

You may also like
The Summer is Gone in Taiwan
Golden Horse names 2016 nominees
Assassin slays competition at Golden Horse
Golden Horse saddles up