Home > screeNZ News > Film > Good year for industry at Arts Foundation Awards

Good year for industry at Arts Foundation Awards

People in or around NZ’s screen industries make up a good number of the beneficiaries at this year’s Arts Foundation Awards.

Taika Waititi is named one of five Laureates, who’ll each collect $50,000. Waititi is coming off a good year, having just completed the shoot of Thor: Ragnorak and having broken the local box office records his 2010 feature Boy with Hunt for the Wilderpeople. A second recipient is novelist Eleanor Catton, the adaptation of whose The Rehearsal is currently completing its theatrical run.

Filmmakers Chris Pryor and Miriam Smith are named the recipients of the Harriet Friedlander residency, which enables artists “to live in New York for as long as $80,000 lasts them”. Their last film was the very excellent opener for last year’s NZIFF Autumn Events, The Ground We Won. Courtesy of the award they’ll follow in Florian Habicht’s footsteps. Habicht created his Love Story during his time in New York.

Parris Goebel, choreographer for Born to Dance and many award-winning hip hop crews and international singers, is named a recipient of the $25,000 New Generation Award.

The Big Idea and Auckland’s Q Theatre, both with ongoing relationships with industry, are indirect recipients of the Patronage award. All up 11 artists, two philanthropists and four organisations were this year’s awards recipients.

The Arts Awards enable us to recognise some of New Zealand’s most extraordinary creators in front of their families, peers and country, says the Arts Foundation’s Executive Director, Simon Bowden.

“The national and international achievements of the 2016 recipients are extraordinary. This is why it is important for New Zealanders to celebrate and recognise these artists.”

In total, they’ll collect $480,000, with the formal presentations running on Wednesday 23 November.

“The awards are no-strings-attached, leaving artists free to use the funds exactly how they please. Some artists have credited the award for enabling the creation of their most celebrated work, others are thankful for the award coming at a time when their washing machine needs replacing.”

The 2016 Arts Foundation Awards recipients are:

2016 Laureate Award Recipients
includes a cash award of $50,000
Eleanor Catton – Writer
Lyell Cresswell – Composer
Dylan Horrocks – Cartoonist/Graphic Novelist/Writer
Peter Robinson – Visual Artist
Taika Waititi – Film Maker

2016 New Generation Award Recipients
includes a cash award of $25,000
Parris Goebel – Choreographer
André Hemer – Visual Artist
Alex Taylor – Composer

Harriet Friedlander New York Residency
Chris Pryor and Miriam Smith – Film Makers

2016 Katherine Mansfield Menton Fellow
Kate Camp – Poet/Writer

Award for Patronage Recipients
John and Jo Gow – Philanthropists
The Gows will support The Big Idea, Tautai, Q Theatre and Sculpture On The Gulf

You may also like
What I learned from Taika Waititi
Waititi named New Zealander of the Year
Scroz names Thor atachments
Academy invites record number