Home > screeNZ News > Film > HKIFF 2104: NZ shorts win back to back awards

HKIFF 2104: NZ shorts win back to back awards

Leo Woodhead’s Cold Snap took away the Jury Prize at the Hong Kong International Film Festival’s (HKIFF) award ceremony on Saturday night, after Zia Mandviwalla’s Night Shift won the short film Firebird Award last year.

Woodhead’s short was the only NZ title screening in competition during the festival. This year’s Firebird went to HU Wei’s The Butter Lamp which, according to the jury, “perfectly captures the thrilling and captivating lives of Tibetan nomads”.

Among the other short film prizes, Janie Geiser’s Kriminalistik won the Internet Audience Award and Reka Bucsi’s Symphony no. 42 received a Special Mention. Judges for the shorts competition were Lav Diaz, Ellen Pau and Quentin Turnour.


HAF Director Jacob Wong, YANG Xiang-gua (sponsor iQiYi), Mr. HU Wei, Leo Woodhead, jurors Lav Diaz, Ms. Ellen Pau and Mr. Quentin Turnour

The HKIFF awards were presented at on Saturday night across five categories, the others being for the Young Cinema Competition, Documentary Competition, FIPRESCI Prize and the SIGNIS Award.

The HKIFF opened on 24 March and closes this weekend.

The winners were:

The Young Cinema Competition Firebird
Macondo, directed by Sudabeh Mortezai
A Special Mention was given for
SAKAMOTO Ayumi’s Forma
The Jury Prize was awarded to
The Tale of Iya, by TSUTA Tetsuichiro

The Documentary Competition Firebird
My Name is Salt, directed by Farida Pacha
Special Mention was given for
Meat and Milk, directed by Bernard Bloch
The Jury Prize was awarded to
GU Tao’s The Last Moose of Aoluguya

The Short Film Competition Firebird
The Butter Lamp, directed by HU Wei
Special Mention was given for
Symphony No. 42, by Reka Bucsi
The Jury Prize was awarded to
Leo Woodhead’s Cold Snap
The Internet Audience Award was awarded to
Janie Geiser’s Kriminalistik

to promote young talent in Asian cinema
LEE Yong-seung, for 10 Minutes

The SIGNIS Award
for films expressing social and humanitarian concerns
Agnieszka Holland’s Burning Bush
Special Mentions were made of
Richie Mehta’sSiddharth and Rashid Masharawi’sPalestine Stereo

You may also like
HKIFF names 2017 winners
Zia Mandviwalla joins Finch
HK Expo closes with gongs
Flickering Truth heads to HKIFF