Home > screeNZ News > Film > Industry members up for Wellingtonian of the Year

Industry members up for Wellingtonian of the Year

Wellingtonians are nominated across nine categories for the awards, which were won last year by Sir Richard Taylor. The awards celebrate those who make the capital the place it is.

Five industry members are nominated across three of the nine categories this year, with thre competing against one another in the Arts category. NZIFF director Bill Gosden is nominated, alongside actor Ray Henwood and composer Samuel Flynn Scott, recently a presenter at the Big Screen Symposium.

Bad egg Ricky Baker aka Julian Dennison gets a nod in the Youth category. Former Wellington Mayor and recently named chair of the NZFC, Kerry Prendergast, is named in the Government category.

The event also presents awards in categories for Business, Community Service, Education, Environment, Science & Technology, and Sport. Across all categories, 44 people are nominated. One of the category winners is named overall winner, Wellingtonian of the Year.

The winners will be announced at an event at Te Papa on 10 November.