Home > screeNZ News > Film > LCCFA celebrates 45 Years

LCCFA celebrates 45 Years

John Maclean took the London Critics’ Circle Film Awards breakthrough award for his South Island-shot Slow West (pictured, top) at a ceremony in the UK this morning (NZ time).

George Miller’s latest addition to the Mad Max franchise took the headline Best Film award, plus the Director gong for Miller. The film also contributed to Tom Hardy being named British/Irish Actor of the Year.

Taking three awards in its own right was 45 Years, which won acting gongs for Charlotte Rampling and Tom Courtenay (repeating the awards won following the film’s premiere at the 2015 Berlinale) plus the British/Irish Film of the Year award.

Saoirse Ronan followed up her BAFTA and Oscar nominations with a win at the LCCFA, taking British/Irish Actress of the Year.

The LCCFA winners were:

Film of the Year
Mad Max: Fury Road

British/Irish Film of the Year
45 Years

Foreign Language Film of the Year
The Look of Silence

Documentary of the Year

Actor of the Year
Tom Courtenay, 45 Years

Actress of the Year
Charlotte Rampling, 45 Years

Supporting Actor of the Year
Mark Rylance, Bridge of Spies

Supporting Actress of the Year
Kate Winslet, Steve Jobs

Director of the Year
George Miller, Mad Max: Fury Road

Screenwriter of the Year
Josh Singer and Tom McCarthy, Spotlight

British/Irish Actor of the Year
Tom Hardy, Legend, London Road, Mad Max: Fury Road, The Revenant

British/Irish Actress of the Year
Saoirse Ronan, Brooklyn, Lost River

Young British/Irish Performer of the Year
Maisie Williams, The Falling

Philip French Award for Breakthrough British/Irish Filmmaker
John Maclean, Slow West

British/Irish Short Film of the Year
Stutterer, Benjamin Cleary

Technical Achievement Award
Ed Lachman, cinematography, Carol

Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film
Kenneth Branagh