Home > screeNZ News > Film > Mad Max drives off with Aussie gongs

Mad Max drives off with Aussie gongs

George Miller’s latest addition to the Mad Max franchise, Fury Road, collected half a dozen craft awards at the AACTA industry bash preceding next week’s public-facing awards event.

Fury Road took wins for Cinematography (John Seale, who presented on the film at an NZCS event here earlier this year); Editing, Sound, Score, Production Design and VFX/Animation. Today (Wednesday) Fury Road also added a US award, the National Board of Review’s Best Film gong, to its tally.

Among the NZ-connected awardees at AACTA was Jennifer Peedom’s The Sherpa, produced by Bridget Ikin, who’s recently been here producing Alison Maclean’s adaptation of Eleanor Catton’s The Rehearsal. The Sherpa took the AACTA gong for Best Original Music Score in a Documentary.

The AACTA doco categories were dominated by Only the Dead, which won three awards, although nobody will be surprised that the Best Doco award went to the much-travelled That Sugar Film.

Recently screening here Last Cab to Darwin and The Dressmaker also picked up awards.

Best Children’s Television Series

Ready For This, Darren Dale, Miranda Dear, Joanna Werner

Best Light Entertainment Television Series
The Weekly With Charlie Pickering, Charlie Pickering, Kevin Whyte, Chris Walker, Frank Bruzzese

Best Direction In A Television Drama Or Comedy
Peter Allen – Not The Boy Next Door, Episode 2, Shawn Seet

Best Direction In A Television Light Entertainment Or Reality Series
Hipsters, Episode 1, Seth Larney​

Best Performance In A Television Comedy
Celia Pacquola, Utopia

Best Cinematography In Television
Deadline Gallipoli, Part 1, Geoffrey Hall

Best Editing In Television
Redfern Now – Promise Me, Nicholas Holmes

Best Sound In Television
Deadline Gallipoli, Part 1, Des Kenneally​, Robert Mackenzie, Liam Price, Jed Dodge, Justine Angus, John Simpson

Best Original Music Score In Television
Glitch, Episode 4, Cornel Wilczek

Best Production Design In Television
The Secret River, Part 1, Herbert Pinter

Best Costume Design In Television
Peter Allen – Not The Boy Next Door, Episode 1, Jenny Miles

Short Film
Best Short Animation

Ernie Biscuit, Adam Elliot

Best Short Fiction Film
Nulla Nulla, Dylan River, Tanith Glynn-Maloney

Best Feature Length Documentary

That Sugar Film, Nick Batzias​, Damon Gameau​

Best Documentary Television Program Presented By Foxtel Movies
The Killing Season, Deborah Masters, Sarah Ferguson

Best Direction In A Documentary
Only The Dead, Bill Guttentag, Michael Ware

Best Cinematography In A Documentary
Life On The Reef, Episode 1, Nick Robinson, Luke Peterson, Jon Shaw

Best Editing In A Documentary
Only The Dead, Jane Moran

Best Sound In A Documentary
Only The Dead, Steve Burgess, Leah Katz​, Andy Wright, Chris Goodes

Best Original Music Score In A Documentary
Sherpa, Antony Partos

Feature Film
Best Original Screenplay

Paper Planes, Robert Connolly, Steve Worland

Best Adapted Screenplay
Last Cab To Darwin, Reg Cribb, Jeremy Sims

Best Cinematography
Mad Max: Fury Road, John Seale

Best Editing
Mad Max: Fury Road, Margaret Sixel

Best Sound
Mad Max: Fury Road, Ben Osmo​, Chris Jenkins, Gregg Rudloff, David White, Mark Mangini, Scott Hecker, Wayne Pashley

Best Original Music Score
Mad Max: Fury Road, Tom Holkenborg Aka Junkie Xl

Best Production Design
Mad Max: Fury Road, Colin Gibson

Best Costume Design
The Dressmaker, Marion Boyce, Margot Wilson

Best Visual Effects Or Animation
Mad Max: Fury Road, Andrew Jackson, Holly Radcliffe, Dan Oliver, Andy Williams, Tom Wood, Fiona Crawford

You may also like
Brooklyn takes Best Brit BAFTA
Things that go bang
Kiwis among the gongs in Sydney
AACTA hands out craft gongs