Home > screeNZ News > Film > No threepeat at Silver Scrolls

No threepeat at Silver Scrolls

The APRA Silver Scroll winners were announced last night at a ceremony in Auckland.

In the screen categories, Big Screen Symposium speakers Luke Buda and Samuel Scott were up for the Original Music in a Feature Film gong for their work on Hunt for the Wilderpeople. They missed out to Mahuia Bridgman-Cooper and Tama Waipara’s score for Mahana.

The win for Mahana also denied Tom McLeod a third gong in three years. McLeod was nominated for Peter Young’s Christchurch-set doco The Art of Recovery. For the last years, he’s won the Original Music in a Series trophy for seasons two and three of Girl vs Boy.

This year the Series award was won by Karl Steven for 800 Words. Steven beat Age Pryor (Jiwi’s Machines) and Tami and Jay Neilson (The Brokenwood Mysteries).

Thomas Oliver took the headline APRA Silver Scroll Award at last night’s event for If I Move To Mars.

The 2016 APRA Silver Scroll winners were:

APRA Silver Scroll Award
Thomas Oliver, If I Move to Mars

APRA Maioha Award
Rob Ruha, Kariri

SOUNZ Contemporary Award
Salina Fisher, Rainphase

APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film Award
Mahuia Bridgman-Cooper & Tama Waipara for Mahana

APRA Best Original Music in a Series Award
Karl Steven for 800 Words

Hall of Fame
Moana Maniapoto 

You may also like
Cinematographer of the Year 2016
Silver Scrolls names 2016 finalists
Local titles buoy NZ box office
Two for TIFF