Home > screeNZ News > Film > No NZ Academy-qualifier at SXSW this year

No NZ Academy-qualifier at SXSW this year

Sarah-Violet Bliss & Charles Rogers’ Fort Tilden and Margaret Brown’s Deepwater Horizon doco The Great Invisible have taken the major gongs at the just-concluded SXSW film awards. SXSW is a qualifying festival for the Academy Awards Short Film categories. The Best Narrative, Documentary and Animated Short winners become eligible for the Academy Awards, which is how Michelle Savill’s Ellen is Leaving qualified last year.

In 2013 Ellen was joined at SXSW by three other shorts: David White and Paul Wedel’s I Kill, Mick Andrews and Brett O’Gorman’s Dotty, and James Cunningham’s Media Design School short Shelved.

This year, Paul Neason’s Queenie played in the Animated Shorts competition, with features Housebound, What We Do in the Shadows and PULP also selected.


Yes, I do know I look like a 1980s social worker

In addition to juried awards SXSW presents Audience Awards, which will be announced on Sunday 16 March (NZ time).

The SXSW jury award winners were:

Feature Film Jury
Narrative Feature

Fort Tilden, directed by Sarah-Violet Bliss & Charles Rogers
Special Jury Recognition:
Animals, directed by David Dastmalchian
10,000KM, directed by Natalia Tena & David Verdauge

Documentary Feature
The Great Invisible, directed by Margaret Brown
Special Jury Recognition:
Vessel, directed by Diana Whitten
Print the Legend, directed by Luis Lopez & Clay Tweel

Short Film Jury
Narrative Short

Quelqu’un d’extraordinaire, directed by Monia Chokri
Special Jury Recognition:
Person to Person, directed by Dustin Guy Defa
Krisha, directed by Trey Edward Shultz

Doco Short
An Economy of Grace, directed by Jeff Dupre

Animated Short
Coda, directed by Alan Holly

Midnight Shorts
(not Academy Award-qualifying)
Wawd Ahp, directed by Steve Girard and Josh Chertoff

Excellence in Title Design

True Detective, designed by Patrick Clair
Special Jury Recognition:
The Lego Movie, designed by Brian Mah

Excellence in Poster Design
Starry Eyes, poster by Jay Shaw

Special Awards
Gamechanger Award

(Outstanding Woman Director)
Jen McGowan, for Kelly and Cal

Louis Black “Lone Star Award”
Richard Linklater, for Boyhood

Karen Schmeer Film Editing Fellowship
Colin Nusbaum (Tough Love, The Sheik & I)

You may also like
SXSW nabs Dotcom doco
Friends and relations at SXSW
Turbo Kid wins at SXSW
Deathgasm goes off in Austin