Home > screeNZ News > Film > NZ winners at FIFO

NZ winners at FIFO

NZ films took four of the seven prizes on offer at FIFO in Tahiti on Saturday evening (NZ time), although the headline Grand Prix went to Rolf de Heer’s Another Country.

All four NZ titles named in the feature competition came away with an award. Chris Pryor and Miriam Smith’s The Ground We Won, Kim Webby’s The Price of Peace and Lala Rolls’ Tupaia took the first, second and third Special Jury prizes respectively. The jury also gave a special mention to Dominique Roberjot and Christine Della-Maggiora’s Le Salaire Des Profondeur. The seven-person jury, led by Abderrahmane Sissako (Timbuktu), included Loading Docs’ Julia Parnell.

Shortly after being announced the recipient of DEGNZ’s doco mentorship here at home, Bryn Evans had another reason to celebrate as Hip Hop-eration won the audience award in Tahiti.

The (non-doco-specific) short film award, won by several NZ shorts over the years, this year went to Codey Wilson and Burleigh Smith’s Australian title Fixed. It beat out a field including Hamish Bennett’s Ross & Beth and a pair of James Dunningham’s Media Design School animated shorts, Shelved and Over the Moon.

FIFO Awards Ceremony 2016

FIFO offers one of doco festivals’ more joyful awards ceremonies

The Pacific International Documentary Film Festival FIFO ran 30 January – 7 February.

You may also like
Opposition wins in Tahiti
FIFO names 2017 line-up
FIFO names 2017 jury
FIFO names early runners