Home > News from Elsewhere > Media Releases > NZ’s Best Jury Announced

NZ’s Best Jury Announced

The New Zealand International Film Festival (NZIFF) today announced producer Carthew Neal and author Emily Perkins will join the jury of NZIFF’s 2016 New Zealand’s Best Short Film Competition.

Carthew Neal and Emily Perkins (pictured, top) will join Buffy McKinnon, representative for Madman Entertainment, to judge six short films selected by Lee Tamahori, at a public screening of New Zealand’s Best 2016 in Auckland on Saturday 23 July.

“The competition is now in its fifth year and we’re pleased to continue a diverse jury line-up for the New Zealand’s Best competition. Emily Perkins’ experience spans both the literary and film worlds with her great success as an author and her recent work in adapting Eleanor Catton’s novel for the big screen. Carthew Neal’s box office success with Hunt for the Wilderpeople makes him one of the most sought after producers in the industry. We look forward to their individual contributions to the judging task at hand in selecting New Zealand’s Best for 2016,” says NZIFF Director Bill Gosden.

The jury will select the winner of the $5,000 Madman Entertainment Jury Prize, while a $3,000 Wallace Friends of the Civic Award will be awarded by donors the Wallace Foundation and Wallace Media Ltd, to the film or contributor to a film they deem to merit special recognition. (The King, supported by Wallace Media, is not eligible for this prize.)

The winners will be announced at the closing night event of the Auckland leg of NZIFF. The six finalists are Spring Jam (dir: Ned Wenlock), Cradle (dir: Damon Duncan),Wait (dir: Yamin Tun), Shmeat (dir: Matasila Freshwater), Judgment Tavern (dir: Dean Hewison), and The King (dir: Ursula Grace Williams).

Guest selector and international filmmaker Lee Tamahori selected the six finalists from a shortlist of 12. Festival programmers Bill Gosden and Michael McDonnell viewed 81 entries to prepare the shortlist.

The New Zealand’s Best competition also includes an Audience award. Audiences in Auckland and Wellington will be asked to vote for their favourite, with the winner taking home 25% of the box office from the Festival screenings in the four main centres – in 2015 valued at $4,800.

The NZIFF runs in Auckland until 31 July; Wellington 22 July – 7 August; Christchurch 28 July – 14 August; Dunedin 4 – 21 August. Dates for other centres are available at nziff.co.nz.

You may also like
Waiting named NZ’s Best
Waiting for Toronto
Hokianga Film Project short for NZIFF
Script to Screen to present TALKS at NZIFF