Home > screeNZ News > NZWG writes year’s first cheques

NZWG writes year’s first cheques

The New Zealand Writers Guild has announced the first round recipients of its 2015 Seed Grants.

Dianne Taylor, Fiona Copland and Ken Duncum whittled the 34 applications down to five, which the NZWG described as “original, well crafted and with distinctive voices”.

Steve Barr (Born to Dance, Timeslow) & Casey Whelan (Born to Dance, Blankets), Daryl Belbin, Charlie Bleakley (shorts Coconut, Long Weekend), Cushla Dillon (editor of Orphans & Kingdoms, How Far Is Heaven, Shihad: Beautiful Machine) and Matthew Nagel are the winners.

Half the available grants for the year have gone in the opening round, so rounds two and three will split five more awards between them. Application deadlines are:

  • Round Two: 12pm, 12 June
  • Round Three: 12pm, 16 October

Application info is available on the NZWG site. The Seed Grant initiative is supported by the NZFC.

You may also like
NZWG opens second seed round
NZWG upgrades Seed scheme
NZWG supports US Guilds on “Muslim Ban”
NZWG scatters final seeds of 2016