Home > screeNZ News > Outlook for Someday: musical comedy wins top honour

Outlook for Someday: musical comedy wins top honour

Today is the Day, co-directed by Hillcrest High School students Bella Cook, Elizabeth Newton-Jackson, Emma Savage and Nowshin Humayun, took out the Body Shop Standout Winner at The Someday Awards in Auckland last night.
The prize package won by the directors of Today is the Day includes Unitec courses or film production facilities to the value of $8000, an IPad 2 and SDGNZ and WIFT memberships, all presented by Andrew Adamson.
Today is the Day was one of 20 award-winning films celebrated at the awards bash at Auckland’s Aotea Centre.
Made by individuals and teams from 7 to 24 years old, the winning films tackle social and health issues as well as environmental subjects.
The Outlook for Someday runs an annual film challenge and a national series of sustainability film-making workshops. This year 1063 young people participated in the film challenge and workshops, creating 153 films.

The full list of winners is:
Body Shop Standout Winner
Today is the Day, co-directed by Hillcrest High School students Bella Cook, Elizabeth Newton-Jackson, Emma Savage and Nowshin Humayun

New Zealand Film Commission Film-making Achievement Award
Bob’s Misadventure by Pita Bol, Central New Brighton School (Primary-Intermediate)

Ministry of Youth Development Community Award
Today is the Day by a team from Hillcrest High School

Department of Conservation Big Picture Award
I’m a Little Molecule of H2O by a team from Avalon Intermediate School
The film also took the Audience Favourite award, determined by votes from online viewing of the films.

Te Puni Kōkiri Whakatipuranga Award
Tuna: Trash or Taonga? by a team from Wainui Beach School (Primary)

Auckland Council Film-maker Award
200 Names Confusion by a team from the University of Auckland and Pakuranga College in Auckland

The Movement – Healthy People Award
Future by a Skills 4 Life class at YMCA South & Mid Canterbury
Unitec Storytelling Award
Wood Vibrations by Shené Holitzhausen from Aoraki Polytechnic and Will Prosor from the University of Otago

UNESCO Sustainable Future Award
Kiwis are Dropping the C-word by Lindsey Horne from the University of Otago

Enviroschools Young Voices For Change Award
15 Ways by Michelle Vergel de Dios from Yoobee School of Design in Auckland

TEAR Fund Social Justice Award
Go Bananas by a team from Point Chevalier School (Primary)

The Someday Ambassadors Teamwork Award
Hunter Meets Pollution Queen by a team from Upokongaro School (Primary-Intermediate)  

Adobe Digital Media Award
Predator by Mason Cade Packer from Kapiti College

Viewfinder Cinematography Award
Windows by Ellen Jones-Poole from Unlimited Paenga Tawhiti

Rockstock Sustainable Lifestyle Award
Cows and Cleaner Dairying by Sarah Ridsdale

Yours Media Empowerment Award
The Bucket Fairy by a team from Freeville School (Primary-Intermediate)

Face Television Viewpoint Award
Today by Sophie Kemp and Katie Ayling from Victoria University

The Erin Simpson Show Secondary School Film-makers Award
Free Pile by Ruby Harris and Naomi Ashby-Ryan from Logan Park High School

Tearaway Secondary School Performance Award
Nearly Lost by Liam van Eeden and Jean-Martin Fabre from Verdon College
What Now Primary/Intermediate School Film-makers Award
Stream Monitoring at Wakapuaka by a team from Hira School
Upstart Primary/Intermediate School Performance Award
The Rubbish Wars by a team from Thames South School (Primary-Intermediate)

You may also like
Someday Stories launch this week
Someday Champions make winning films
The Someday Workshops return for 2017
Third time tops for TOFS winner