Home > screeNZ News > Pretty flash

Pretty flash

A handful of screen industry companies and individuals made the finalists list for this year’s Hi-Tech awards, which attract a record number of entries.

Shotover Camera Systems' six shooter, Hydra

Shotover Camera Systems’ six shooter, Hydra

Movio and Shotover Camera Systems both picked up a brace of nominations.

Movio arrived on the radar of many industry folk only recently at the announcement of Vista’s work with the NZFC to fund a new training initiative from their $750,000 Vista Foundation.

At the Hi-Tech awards, Movio is nominated in the Emerging Company of the Year and Innovative Hi-Tech Software Product categories.

Also nominated is Rush Digital’s Danu Abeysuriya and SmudgeApps’ Reuben Bijl, both in the Young Achiever category.

Rush Digital develops apps and games for a range of corporate and industry clients, including TVNZ and PikPok’s Into the Dead game. SmudgeApps does what it says on the box and includes Flicks and Sky among its clients.

Shotover is nominated for the Best Technology Solution for the Creative Sector and Company of the Year gongs. Designed for use on helicopters, ground vehicles, watercraft and almost anything that moves, Shotover’s 6 axis gyro stabilized platform is a gem. Here’s some vertigo-inducing footage of one of their systems at work.

International judges for this year’s Hi-Tech awards include Apple co-founder, Steve Wozniak, and Claudia Batten, founder of Massive.

A list of selected finalists follows. The full list is here. The winners will be revealed at a ceremony in Wellington on 15 May.

PwC Hi-Tech Company of the Year 2015
Shotover Camera Systems

Cisco Hi-Tech Emerging Company of the Year 2015
ARANZ Medical
Totara Learning
Unleashed Software
Volpara Solutions

Callaghan Innovation Best Technology Solution for the Creative Sector 2015
Shotover Camera Systems

Duncan Cotterill Innovative Hi-Tech Software Product 2015

Fronde Hi-Tech Young Achiever 2015
Danu Abeysuriya – Rush Digital
Reuben Bijl – SmudgeApps
Madeleine Martin – Ossis
Ben O’Brien – Stretchsense
Ben Richmond – Xero