Home > screeNZ News > Film > Recipients of APRA Professional Development Awards

Recipients of APRA Professional Development Awards

APRA has announced the winners of its bi-annual Professional Development Awards.

Claire Cowan (pictured, top) took the Film & TV award, Clovis McEvoy the Classical award and Chelsea Jade the Pop Contemporary award. Each award is worth $10,000 cash, and is intended to be used for career development.

Cowan is known for her work on film and TV productions including Billy, Waitangi: What Really Happened and The Women’s Vote (all directed by Peter Burger) as well as the more recent Hillary and Yukfoo’s long-coming Escalator project Shirley and the Hungary Bear.. She will use her award to support participation in sound track masterclasses in Cologne and Hollywood.



“These are three great projects from three amazing writers. Each is young and ambitious and they have bold and exciting plans. At APRA we hope that our support and investment gives them all confidence and freedom to experiment, learn, and thrive as artists,” said Head of New Zealand Operations Anthony Healey.