Home > screeNZ News > Film > A’s rings Grand Bell

A’s rings Grand Bell

The 51st Daejong Film Awards (aka the Grand Bell awards) ran Friday in Seoul, with The Attorney and The Admiral leaving the event with four gongs apiece.


YANG Woo-suk’s The Attorney led the way with nominations in 11 of the 17 award categories. Kim Han-min’s The Admiral: Roaring Currents was a close second with 10. Both were named in the Best Film nominations, which The Admiral: Roaring Currents won. As The Attorneywas Yang’s debut feature, he wasn’t considered for the Director gong but was instead nominated for the New Director award, which he duly collected.

One of Korea’s most recognisable actors, Choi Min-sik, won the event’s Best Actor actor gong, which he last collected a decade ago for Park Chan-wook’s Oldboy.

The Daejong Film Awards (Grand Bell) winners were:

Best Film
The Admiral: Roaring Currents directed by Kim Han-min

The Admiral: Roaring Currents

Best Actor
Choi Min-sik, The Admiral: Roaring Currents

Best Actress
Son Ye-jin, Pirates

Best New Actor
Park Yoo-chun, Haemoo

Best New Actress
Lim Ji-yeon, Obsessed

Best Supporting Actor
Yoo Hae-jin, Pirates

Best Supporting Actress
Kim Yeong-ae, The Attorney

Best Director
Kim Seong-hoon, A Hard Day

Best New Director
Yang Woo-seok, The Attorney

Best Screenplay
Yang Woo-seok and Yoon Hyeon-ho, The Attorney

Best Cinematography
Kim Tae-seong, A Hard Day

Best Editing
Sin Min-kyeong, The Divine Move

Best Art Direction
Jo Hwa-seong, The Fatal Encounter

Best Lighting
Kim Kyeong-seok, A Hard Day

Best Costume Design
Jo Sang-kyeong, KUNDO : Age of the Rampant

Best Music
Mowg, Miss Granny

Technical Award
Yoon Dae-won, The Admiral: Roaring Currents

Best Planning
Kim Han-min, The Admiral: Roaring Currents

Popularity Award
Si Wan, The Attorney
Kim Woo-bin, Friends 2
Lee Honey, Tazza: The High Rollers 2

Lifetime Achievement Award for the Advancement of Cinema
Jung Jin-woo