Home > screeNZ News > Film > Show Me Shorts names 2016 finalists

Show Me Shorts names 2016 finalists

Yamin Tun’s Wait is nominated in every category its eligible for at Show Me Shorts, leading the pack with six nominations. Tun’s film has already collected the $5000 Madman Entertainment Jury Prize for the Best New Zealand Short Film and $3000 Wallace Friends of the Civic Award at this year’s NZ’s Best competition.

Fellow NZ’s Best finalists also pick up nods at Show Me Shorts: Damon Duncan’s Cradle is nominated in three categories, Ned Wenlock’s Spring Jam in two.

Five titles share all the short film nominations between them, with Christian Rivers’ Feeder (three nominations) and Joe Lonie’s Shout at the Ground (four) completing the line-up. Cradle is the only title not nominated for the Oscar-accredited Lightbox Best Film Award.

Actress Antonia Prebble, Tickled co-director Dylan Reeve and producer Steven O’Meagher will judge the competition. The winner of the 2016 Lightbox Best Film Award will get a shot at Oscar glory as well as picking up $2,000 cash and sponsored prizes.

47 titles screen in the festival, with 13 nominated across all award categories. The most competitive finalist category is the Music Video award. Five titles are nominated, two by the team which has won the award for the last two years, Thunderlips/Candlelit Pictures.

Show Me Shorts commences in various centres from 2 October. The winners of the Show Me Shorts Awards will be announced at the Auckland Opening Night & Awards Ceremony at The Civic on 1 October, for which tickets are now on sale.

Show Me Shorts Finalists
NZ On Air Best Music Video

THUNDERLIPS & Candlelit Pictures, Lifeguard by LarzRanda
Simon Oliver, Secret Lives of Furniture by Ha the Unclear
Parallel Teeth, Beffy by Ladi6
Alexander Gandar & Billie Ruck, Low Brow by Chelsea Jade
THUNDERLIPS & Candlelit Pictures, Breathe by Sheep, Dog & Wolf

Panavision Best Cinematographer Award
Simon Baumfield, Feeder
Alexander Lloyd, Wait
Ian McCarroll, Cradle

Starnow Best Actor Award
Jacqueline Joe, Cradle
Katlyn Wong, Wait
Cohen Holloway, Feeder

Best International Film Award
Elizabeth Brown & Dan Hodgson, Love is Blind
Tim Ellrich, Die Badewanne (The Bathtub)
Daniel Mulloy, Chris Watling, Scott O’Donnell, Tim Nash, Shpat Deda & Afolabi Kuti, Home

Final Draft Best Screenplay Award
Hugh Calveley, Cradle
Yamin Tun, Wait
Joe Lonie, Shout at the Ground

DEGNZ Best Editor Award
Simon Price, Wait
Jonno Woodford-Robinson, Feeder
Bryan Shaw, Shout at the Ground

DEGNZ Best Director Award
Ned Wenlock, Spring Jam
Yamin Tun, Wait
Joe Lonie, Shout at the Ground

Lightbox Best Film Award
Mhairead Connor, Feeder
Georgiana Plaister & Ned Wenlock, Spring Jam
Leela Menon, Shout at the Ground
Vicky Pope & Daniel Higgins, Wait