Home > screeNZ News > Film > Show Me Shorts lines up 2014 finalists

Show Me Shorts lines up 2014 finalists

Following its recent programme launch, New Zealand’s Academy Awards-accredited Show Me Shorts has now announced the films in the running for gongs this year.


Abigail Greenwood’s Eleven

The nominees for the Best Film Award, and Oscar consideration, are: Matthew Saville and Julia
Parnell for Dive; Abigail Greenwood and Kate Prior for Eleven; and Greg Wood, Levi Slavin and Declan Cahill for Helmut Makes a Quilt.

Dive and Eleven (Friends of the Civic Short Film Award for distinctive creative achievement in this year’s NZIFF NZ’s Best competition) lead the pack with four nominations apiece.

Hamish Bennett’s Ross & Beth which took three of four NZ’s Best gongs, isn’t in the running for the Best Film award but Bennett will compete with Matthew Saville and Abigail Greenwood for Show Me Shorts’ Best Director gong.

The year’s new award, the Best Music Video Award, will go to one of Alix Whittaker and THUNDERLIPS for Glare by Sheep, Dog & Wolf; Samuel Galloway for Return of the Worm by T54; and Paul Innes for Robotronic by Dead Beat Boys.

In the Best International Film category Jiminy (France) will compete with Vigia/Lookout (France/Switzerland) and משא/Load (Israel).



As per a previous announcement Sophie Henderson, David Larsen, Robyn Malcolm and Joe Lonie (winner of last year’s Best Film Award) will handle the judging.

The winners of the Show Me Shorts awards will be announced at the Rialto Channel Opening Night & Awards Ceremony on Thursday 6 November at Auckland’s Civic.

Show Me Shorts runs in 20 cinemas 6 – 23 November.

This year’s finalists are:

Best Film Award
Julia Parnell and Matthew Saville, Dive
Kate Prior and Abigail Greenwood, Eleven
Greg Wood, Levi Slavin and Declan Cahill Helmut Makes a Quilt

Best International Film Award
Arthur Molard, Jiminy
Niv Shpigel and Robert Moreno, Load
Marcel Barelli, Vigia (Lookout)

DEGNZ Best Director Award
Matthew Saville, Dive
Abigail Greenwood, Eleven
Hamish Bennett, Ross & Beth

StarNow Best Actor Award
Astrid Lewis, Eleven
Cameron Rhodes, Killing Phillip
Jackie van Beek, Uphill

Final Draft Best Screenplay Award
Matthew Saville, Dive
Greg Wood and Levi Slavin, Helmut Makes a Quilt
Jeremy Liss and Sam Burt, Queenie

Panavision Best Cinematographer Award
Ginny Loane, Helmut Makes a Quilt
Grant McKinnon, Ross & Beth
Ari Wegner, Uphill

Best Editor Award
Peter Roberts, Dive
Annie Collins, Eleven
Stewart Reeves, Killing Phillip

Best Music Video
Alix Whittaker and THUNDERLIPS, Glare by Sheep, Dog & Wolf
Samuel Galloway, Return of the Worm by T54
Paul Innes, Robotronic by Dead Beat Boys

NZFC Special Jury Prize
Winner to be announced on the night.

Student Film, Notable Mention
To be announced on the night.

Wendy’s People’s Choice Award
Announced in December when audience votes are counted.

You may also like
Show Me Shorts names nominees
Show Me Shorts picks 55
Show Me Shorts names judges
Show Me Shorts awards tix on sale