Home > screeNZ News > Film > SIFF likes a Little England

SIFF likes a Little England

The Shanghai International Festival has closed is 17th edition, ending as it began with controversies around some of its titles.

At the Golden Goblet Awards, part of the event’s closing ceremony, Little England scored a hat-trick. Pantelis Voulgaris‘ film is an adaptation of wife Ioanna Karistiani’s debut novel, set and shot on the Greek island of Andros.

Little England

Little England: another period drama is a winner in China

The Uncle Victory took the jury’s grand prix. Public screenings of The Uncle Victory were cancelled following the news that lead actor Hung Haibo had recently been arrested in Beijing during a crackdown on prostitution.

Shortly before the screening of the festival’s closing film, Transformers 4: Age of Extinction, suits were filed in Beijing by one of Paramount’s Chinese partners on the title, Beijing Pangu Investment Co., alleging breaches of contract and seeking to prevent the film’s release in China later this week.

Among the announcements made during the festival were an expansion of SIFF in 2015 to accommodate a new mini-festival, Jackie Chan International Action Week. Chan, who has also established courses in action filmmaking on the mainland, was in Shanghai to make the announcement.

Shanghai’s Asian New Talents jury, which included Vincent Ward, gave most of its awards to Reza Dormishian’s I’m Not Angry!.

I'm Not Angry!

Among other prizes presented were the Vincent Ward Prize, which provides flights, accommodation, a stipend and use of film school facilities at the Universtiy of Caterbury.

The Golden Goblet winners were:
Best Feature Film
Little England

Jury Grand Prix
The Uncle Victory

Best Director
Pantelis Voulgaris, Little England. 

Best Screenplay
Cyril Gely & Volker Schlöndorff, Diplomacy

Best Actress
Pinelopi Tsilika, Little England

Best Actor
Vithaya Pansringarm, The Last Executioner

Best Cinematography
Luo Pan, The Sacred Arrow

Outstanding Artistic Achievement
Gregg Alexander, Begin Again

The Asian New Talent Award winners were:
Best Film
I’m Not Angry!

Best Director
Reza Dormishian, I’m Not Angry!

Jury Prize
10 Minutes, dir. Lee Yong-seung

The Vincent Ward Prize
(sponsored by University of Canterbury)
Reza Dormishian & Indranil Roychowdhury (director of Dragon Fly)

You may also like
Shanghai opens doors cautiously
NZWG loses head
Grimm picks Kiwis
BSS 2015 names two more