Home > screeNZ News > Film > Silver Scrolls names 2016 finalists

Silver Scrolls names 2016 finalists

The Silver Scroll Awards has named its 2016 finalists, including those for the two screen-specific categories, Best Original Music in a Feature Film and Best Original Music in a Series Award. Last year the categories were won by Grayson Gilmour (Consent: the Louise Nicholas Story) and Tom McLeod (Girl vs Boy series 3).

The Phoenix Foundation’s Buda and Scott, who’ll present at the Big Screen Symposium the weekend before the awards are presented, are nominated for the headline Silver Scroll Award with Give Up Your Dreams.

Among the Phoenix Foundation’s competitors for the Silver Scroll Award are Tami and Jay Neilson, nominated with The First Man. The Neilsons also have a nod in the Original Music in a Series category, for The Brokenwood Mysteries.

A second SPP show, ANZ co-production 800 Words (pictured top), which has just started screening its second season in Australia, garners a nomination for Karl Stevens. Completing the category’s finalist line-up is Age Pryor, nominated for webseries Jiwi’s Machines.

The winner of the Series category for the last two years, Tom McLeod (Girl vs Boy), is this year nominated in the Original Music in a Feature Film category for his work on Peter Young’s Christchurch-set doco The Art of Recovery.

McLeod is up against Mahana composers Mahuia Bridgman-Cooper and Tama Waipara and The Phoenix Foundation’s Buda, Scott and Conrad Wedde, nominated for Taika Waititi’s Hunt For The Wilderpeople.

The APRA Silver Scroll Awards has teamed with Radio New Zealand to present the first live television broadcast of the awards event, which will run on RNZ’s Freeview Channel (#50 for those not used to the upper reaches of FTA channels). RNZ will also stream the awards on its website.

John Campbell will MC the Silver Scroll Awards, which run 29 September in Auckland.

You may also like
No threepeat at Silver Scrolls
Silver Scrolls names 2015 winners
APRAS to score screen scores