Home > screeNZ News > Film > Spring Jam the winner at Show Me Shorts

Spring Jam the winner at Show Me Shorts

Ned Wenlock’s animated Spring Jam took Show Me Short’s Best Film award, continuing the tradition of NZ’s Best winners missing out on Show Me Shorts’ top award. Wenlock’s short also collected the Best Director gong.

Going into the awards several films had the chance for multiple wins, with Yamin Tun’s Wait nominated in all six categories it was eligible for. Already the winner of the $5000 Madman Entertainment Jury Prize for the Best New Zealand Short Film and $3000 Wallace Friends of the Civic Award, Wait was the evening’s other multiple award winner. Tun took the Special Jury Prize, while Catlyn Wong won the Acting honours.

Previous Best Film winner Joe Lonie (Honk if You’re Horny) was again in competition this year with Shout at the Ground going into the evening with four nominations. The vom-com took the Editing gong.

Yamin Tun accepts the NZFC-sponsored Special Jury Prize

Yamin Tun accepts the NZFC-sponsored Special Jury Prize

Five shorts shared all the NZ short nominations between them, and none left empty-handed. Christian Rivers’ Feeder took the Cinematography gong. Hugh Calveley took the Screenwriting Award for Damon Duncan’s Cradle.

This year’s judges were actress Antonia Prebble, Tickled co-director Dylan Reeve and producer Steven O’Meagher. Jackie van Beek MCed, keeping the evening moving and entertaining.

The awards’ most competitive category was the Music Video award, for which five titles were nominated. Previously, only Thunderlips/Candlelit Pictures had won the award and were going for a threepeat, having taken two of the five finalist spots this year. Sean Wallace accepted the gong for the Thunderlips video for Breathe by Sheep, Dog & Wolf. The other half of Thunderlips, Jordan Dodson, was busy celebrating the arrival of his first child who’d put in an appearance a couple of hours before the ceremony got under way.

Ha the Unclear, whose Secret Lives of Furniture directed by Simon Oliver was also nominated, played the Gala Night after party.

Ned Wenlock, winner of the Best Director and Best Film awards

Ned Wenlock, winner of the Best Director and Best Film awards

Show Me Shorts commences in various centres from 2 October. The award winners were (marked ***):

Lightbox Best Film Award
Mhairead Connor, Feeder
*** Georgiana Plaister & Ned Wenlock, Spring Jam
Leela Menon, Shout at the Ground
Vicky Pope & Daniel Higgins, Wait

NZFC Special Jury Prize
Yasmin Tun for Wait

Best International Film Award
Elizabeth Brown & Dan Hodgson, Love is Blind
*** Tim Ellrich, Die Badewanne (The Bathtub)
Daniel Mulloy, Chris Watling, Scott O’Donnell, Tim Nash, Shpat Deda & Afolabi Kuti, Home

DEGNZ Best Director Award
*** Ned Wenlock, Spring Jam
Yamin Tun, Wait
Joe Lonie, Shout at the Ground

DEGNZ Best Editor Award
Simon Price, Wait
Jonno Woodford-Robinson, Feeder
*** Bryan Shaw, Shout at the Ground

Final Draft Best Screenplay Award
*** Hugh Calveley, Cradle
Yamin Tun, Wait
Joe Lonie, Shout at the Ground

Panavision Best Cinematographer Award
*** Simon Baumfield, Feeder
Alexander Lloyd, Wait
Ian McCarroll, Cradle

Starnow Best Actor Award
Jacqueline Joe, Cradle
*** Katlyn Wong, Wait
Cohen Holloway, Feeder

NZ On Air Best Music Video
THUNDERLIPS & Candlelit Pictures, Lifeguard by LarzRanda
Simon Oliver, Secret Lives of Furniture by Ha the Unclear
Parallel Teeth, Beffy by Ladi6
Alexander Gandar & Billie Ruck, Low Brow by Chelsea Jade
*** THUNDERLIPS & Candlelit Pictures, Breathe by Sheep, Dog & Wolf

You may also like
Show Me Shorts names nominees
Show Me Shorts picks 55
Show Me Shorts names judges
Show Me Shorts awards tix on sale