Home > screeNZ News > Film > Sundance awards 2016 shorts

Sundance awards 2016 shorts

The Sundance Institute has announced its jury prizes in short filmmaking.

8,712 submissions were culled to 72 shorts presented at the festival, with the Short Film Grand Jury Prize going to Jim Cummings’ Thunder Road (pictured, top).

Supported by YouTube, the festival programme is part of year-round activity to support short filmmaking.
The 2016 Sundance short film award winners were:
Short Film Grand Jury Prize
Thunder Road, Jim Cummings, USA
Short Film Jury Award: U.S. Fiction
The Procedure, Calvin Lee Reeder, USA
Short Film Jury Award: International Fiction
Maman, Maïmouna Doucouré, France

Short Film Jury Award: Non-fiction
Bacon & God’s Wrath, Sol Friedman, Canada
Short Film Jury Award: Animation
Edmond, Nina Gantz, UK
Short Film Special Jury Award for Outstanding Performance
Grace Glowicki for Her Friend Adam
Short Film Special Jury Award for Best Direction
Ondřej Hudeček for Peacock, Czech Republic

You may also like
Sundance Institute announces Documentary Fund grants
Sundance wraps 2017 edition
Sundance begins 2017 roll-out with competition line-ups
Sundance gets Greasy again