Home > screeNZ News > Film > SWANZ finalists fluff their feathers

SWANZ finalists fluff their feathers

This afternoon, the New Zealand Writers Guild proudly announced the finalists in the Scriptwriters Awards NZ 2010 (SWANZ). Twnety-one nominations will compete for seven awards, to be handed out on the evening of 10 November in Auckland.

Five writers get two shots at the cherries. Mike Riddell’s screenplay adaptation of his own novel The Insatiable Moon is up for Best Feature Film Script; Sam Peacocke competes for the Best Short Film Script award for Manurewa; and Natalie Medlock and Dan Musgrove are finalists for Best Play with Christ Almighty!. All of them are also nominated in the New Writer category.

Rachel Lang also does double duty, nominated for the Industry Mentor award and for the Best TV Drama Script for Outrageous Fortune: s5, e17.

The winners will be announced at the SWANZ event on the evening of November the 10th, 7pm, at the Jubilee Hall, Parnell, Auckland.

This will be a fantastic night and a chance to relax, enjoy good wine and good company and to celebrate something positive! Tickets are available now, and the info is here.

The nominees are:

Best Feature Film Script
Gaylene Preston – Home By Christmas
Mike Riddell – The Insatiable Moon
Briar Grace-Smith – The Strength of Water
Taika Waititi – Boy
Best Short Film Script                    
Sam Peacocke – Manurewa
James Blick – Roof Rattling
Paul Stanley Ward – Choice Night
Best Play                   
Pip Hall – The 53rd Victim
Natalie Medlock and Dan Musgrove – Christ Almighty!
Fiona Samuel –  Ghost Train
Best TV Comedy Script                  
Kate McDermott – Go Girls: Series 2, Episode 9
Gerard Johnstone – The Jaquie Brown Diaries: Episode 4
Best TV Drama Script                     
Rachel Lang – Outrageous Fortune: series 5, episode 17
James Griffin – Outrageous Fortune: series 5, Episode 16
Donna Malane and Paula Boock – Bloodlines
New Writer Award
Sam Peacocke – Manurewa
Natalie Medlock and Dan Musgrove – Christ Almighty!
Mike Riddell – The Insatiable Moon
Industry Mentorship Award
Rachel Lang
Roger Horrocks
Glenis Giles

You may also like
SWANZ hands out 2017 awards
SWANZ names 2017 finalists
NZWG opens second seed round
NZWG upgrades Seed scheme