Home > screeNZ News > Film > SWANZ hands out 2017 awards

SWANZ hands out 2017 awards

The script for anthology feature Waru took the gong for Best Feature script at the writers’ awards in Auckland last night.

The evening’s two-time winner was Cian Elyse Waiti, who took the gongs for Best Play and New Writer.

Rene Le Bas followed up last year’s nomination with a win, for Saviour in the Unproduced Script (TV Pilot) category. Shoshana McCallum, also a nominee last year, won this year’s Unproduced Script (Feature) category with co-writer Natalie Medlock for Daisy Chain

While MC Nick Ward maintained the SWANZ tradition of keeping the awards short and sweet, the event was unfortunately marred by the venue. The move to a bar on Sale Street raised a few eyebrows when announced, and wasn’t exactly a success.

There’s an irony to having a writers’ awards where the audience can’t hear a word being spoken from the stage. Sadly that meant a lot of people gave up trying, struck up their own conversations and made it even more difficult to hear what was happening.




The 2017 SWANZ winners were (marked ***):

South Pacific Pictures – Best Feature Film
The Inland Road, Jackie van Beek
*** Waru, Briar Grace-Smith, Casey Kaa, Ainsley Gardiner, Katie Wolfe, Chelsea Cohen, Renae Maihi, Paula Jones, Josephine Stewart-Te Whiu

Best Short Film
*** Mr Bernstein, Guy Hamling
My Brother Mitchell, Todd Karehana
Shout at the Ground, Joe Lonie
The Pissy Tits Street Gang, Rosie Howells

Best Play
Magdalena of Mangere, Louise Tu’u
*** Te Puhi, Cian Elyse Waiti
Top This, Emilia Marriott

ATEED Best Episode TV Series – Drama
Dirty Laundry Episode 12, Jess Sayer
The Brokenwood Mysteries Series 3, Episode 4, Tim Balme
The Cul de Sac Series 2, Episode 6, Stephen J Campbell
*** Shortland Street 25th Anniversary Special, Nick Malmholt, Harry McNaughton
Westside Series 2, Episode 10, James Griffin

Best Web Episode
Auckward Love Season 3, Episode 1, Jess Sayer
*** Darryl. An Outward Bound Story Episode 2, Millen Baird, John Argall
Guess I’m Coming to Dinner, Roseanne Liang
The Cricket Bat, Mike Minogue

Best One-off TV Drama
*** Jean, Paula Boock, Donna Malane
Why Does Love?, Pip Hall, Philip Smith

Best New Writer
*** Cian Elyse Waiti
Jess Sayer
Mike Minogue
Rosie Howells
Todd Karehana

2017 Unproduced Script Competition
TV Pilot

Mountain View, Carl Smith
*** Saviour, Rene LeBas
The Wrong Side of the Grass, Rene LeBas

2017 Unproduced Script Competition
Feature Film

*** Daisy Chain, Shoshana McCallum, Natalie Medlock 
Blind Eye, April Phillips
Bootblack, Richard Goodwin

Mentorship Awards
Ken Duncum, writer and educator
Paul Sonne, (retired) story editor

You may also like
SWANZ names 2017 finalists
SWANZ writes 2016 winners
SWANZ names 2016 finalists
NZWG opens SWANZ submissions