Home > screeNZ News > Film > SWANZ names 2016 finalists

SWANZ names 2016 finalists

The finalists for this year’s SWANZ awards were announced late Tuesday, with just over a week for the prospective winners to draft acceptance speeches.

Plenty of the usual suspects have nominations this year, with South Pacific Pictures’ writers already assured of wins in two categories: Best Episode TV Series – Comedy and Best Episode TV Series – Drama.

The winner of the latter award last year, Tim Balme for The Brokenwood Mysteries: Sour Grapes, gets two bites at the cherry this year with nods for 800 Words Season 1, Episode 5 and The Brokenwood Mysteries Season 2, Episode 4.

None of last year’s other competitive award winners are in the running this time although 2015 Industry Champion and former NZWG ED Steven Gannaway, for whom last year’s ceremony doubled as his leaving do, gets a nod in the Unproduced Feature category for Where Babies Come From. Gannaway’s 2003 novel, Seraphim Blues, was adapted as Kirstin Marcon’s The Most Fun You Can Have Dying.

Last year, Roseanne Liang won the Best Television Comedy Episode category with an episode of webseries Flat 3. This year, there was a category for web series, but – despite a healthy crop of local series being produced – no nominees were announced. There were also no nominees announced for the Radio Play and One-off TV Drama categories. The winner of the New Writer award will be announced at the event.

The SWANZ Awards will be presented at a ceremony in Auckland on Thursday 22 September. Tickets are on sale here.

The 2016 nominees are:

Best Feature Film
Born To Dance,  Steve Barr, Casey Whelan & Hone Kouka
Hunt for the Wilderpeople,  Taika Waititi
Best Short Film
Every Moment, Gabriel Reid
Judgement Tavern,  Dean Hewison
Best Play
The Quiet Room,  Renee Liang
Officer 27,  Aroha Awarau
Best Episode TV Series – Comedy
Step Dave Series 2 Episode 3,  Shoshana McCallum
Step Dave Series 2, Episode 5,  Kate McDermott
Best Episode TV Series – Drama
800 Words, Episode 5,  Tim Balme
The Brokenwood Mysteries Series 2, Episode 4,  Tim Balme
Shortland Street, episode 5967,  Libby Bird
Westside Series 2, Episode 1,  James Griffin
Westside Series 2, Episode 8,  Kate McDermott
Best Factual Script – Film or TV Documentary
25 April,  Leanne Pooley and Tim Woodhouse
Forensics: Operation Edgewater,  Belinda McLeod and Damon Fepulea’i
Unproduced Script Competition
TV Pilot

Best Friend Ever,  Allan George
Burnt Spur,  Shoshana McCallum
Firebug,  David Mamea
True Blue,  René Le Bas
Wanted Men,  Fiona Samuel
Feature Film
The Board,  Kristi Barnett
Domebusters of Waihopai,  Rex Nicholson
The Floating World,  Jacqueline Owens
Hongi,  Simone Nathan
Where Babies Come From,  Steven Gannaway

You may also like
SWANZ hands out 2017 awards
SWANZ names 2017 finalists
NZWG opens second seed round
NZWG upgrades Seed scheme