Home > screeNZ News > Film > SWANZ writes more winners

SWANZ writes more winners

The NZ Writers Guild’s annual awards, SWANZ, faded in and out on its winners at the Classic in Auckland last night. The event is currently the only industry awards bash confirmed for the year, yet nonetheless continued to work at maintaining the “best party/ceremony ratio in the history of awards evenings”.

Hosts John Leigh and Greg Johnson kept to tradition, entertaining the crowd and bringing the evening’s more formal proceedings to a close within 40 minutes.

This year the TV Drama Script category wasn’t exclusively a South Pacific Pictures affair, with Desert Road’s Harry not only taking one of the nominations but the award as well. Harry writers Oscar Kightley and Christopher Dudman join producer Steven O’Meagher in a session at this weekend’s Big Screen Symposium.

Michael Bennett took the Best Factual Script for The Confessions of Prisoner T, taking the opportunity to voice his anger at the apparent lack of action to resolve what appears to be a miscarriage of justice.

Lauren Jackson was an absentee winner, her I’m Going to Mum’s taking the Best Short Film Script award. Robin Scholes collected the award on behalf of the evening’s other absentee winner, Andrew Adamson, who took the Best Feature Script for Mr. Pip.

Another Pip, Hall, presented the Industry Mentor gong to writer and former NZFC development executive, Hone Kouka.

The 2013 winners are (marked ***):

First Feature Script
Daniel Joseph Borgman, The Weight of Elephants

Best TV Comedy Episode
***Agent Anna, Episode 2 – Maxine Fleming & Vanessa Alexander
Sunny Skies, Episode 2 – Sam Smith, Amanda Alison, Jamie Bowden, Dean Butler, Leon Wadham
The Factory, Episode 2 – Michael Bennett
Flat 3, Episode 2 – Roseanne Liang

Best TV Drama Episode
The Blue Rose, Episode 13 – Rachel Lang
***Harry, Episode 2 – Oscar Kightley, Christopher Dudman
The Almighty Johnsons, Episode 10 – Natalie Medlock & James Griffin
The Almighty Johnsons, Episode 7 – James Griffin

Best Play
Motel – April Phillips
The Guilt Sniffer – Mark Prebble & Marion Shortt
Horses and Other Farm Animals – Louise Tu’u
***Goodbye My Feleni – David Mamea

Best Factual Script
He Toki Huna: New Zealand in Afghanistan – Annie Goldson
***The Confessions of Prisoner T – Michael Bennett
New Zealand From Above – James Heyward & Bruce Morrison

NZWG Industry Mentor
Hone Kouka

Best Short Film Script
Blankets – Casey Whelan
Friday Tigers (Nga Taika o te Ramere) – Aidee Walker
Tuffy – Matthew Sunderland
***I’m Going to Mum’s – Lauren Jackson

Best Unproduced Script
Dave’s Tour – Denis Edwards
Humpy – Murray J Duncan
The Chatterton Virgin – Sue Reidy
***Billy Bold – Mike Smith
Truthtellers – Justene Musin
Where There’s a Will – James Griffin
Anti-Social – Blair Soper
Miracle Rd – Simon Hall
Parallel Lives – Catherine Blackwell
Trouble at The Mill – Simon McCarthy

Best Feature Film Script
White Lies – Dana Rotberg
Mt. Zion – Tearepa Kahi
The Weight of Elephants – Daniel Joseph Borgman
***Mr. Pip – Andrew Adamson

You may also like
SWANZ hands out 2017 awards
SWANZ names 2017 finalists
NZWG opens second seed round
NZWG upgrades Seed scheme