Home > screeNZ News > Film > Sydney hands out awards

Sydney hands out awards

The festival’s longest film took the largest prize as Miguel Gomes’ three-part six-hour Arabian Nights, premiered last month in Cannes at Directors’ Fortnight, took the headline Sydney Film Prize and accompanying AU$62,000.

Arabian Nights

Miguel Gomes’ Arabian Nights

Michael Ware and Bill Guttentag’s Only the Dead took the doco award, beating a field including recent Doc Edge titles Gayby Baby and Tyke Elephant Outlaw.

The four short film awards were shared around, with Sotiris Dounoukos’ A Single Body and Anthony Lawrence’s Grace Under Water taking the Oscar-qualifying live action and animated short awards.

The Sydney Film Festival ran 3 – 14 June. The award winners were

The Sydney Film Prize
Arabian Nights, directed by Miguel Gomes

The Documentary Australia Foundation Award for Australian Documentary
Michael Ware and Bill Guttentag for Only the Dead
Special Mention: The Lost Aviator directed by Andrew Lancaster

Short Film Awards
Dendy Live Action Short Award

A Single Body, directed and written by Sotiris Dounoukos

Yoram Gross Animation Award
Grace Under Water, directed and produced by Anthony Lawrence

Rouben Mamoulian Award for Best Director
Brooke Goldfinch for Red Rover
Special Mention: Ryan Griffen for You Turn

Event Cinema Australian Short Screenplay Award
Bluey, written and directed by Darlene Johnson

You may also like
Sydney celebrates end of festival
Sydney picks 2016 winners
Sydney takes seven
Sydney FF heads for NZ