Home > screeNZ News > Film > The Oscar winners 2016

The Oscar winners 2016

The Revenant, loved and not in equal measure during the run in to the ceremony, took Best Director (the second year running for Inarritu after last year’s win for Birdman) and Actor for Leonardo di Caprio.

The Spirit Awards, run as usual a day ahead of the Oscars, had delivered bigtime for Oscar contender Spotlight (pictured top). Tom McCarthy’s feature took the awards for Best Feature, Director, Screenplay (McCarthy & Josh Singer), Editing, and the Robert Altman Award for Best Ensemble. Spotlight got out of the blocks early at the Oscar ceremony, taking the Screenplay award. It also closed the evening to take the Best Film gong.

Idris Elba, one of those whose work was ignored by the Academy this year, took the Spirit Awards’ Best Supporting Male gong for his performance in Beasts of No Nation, which also saw Abraham Attah take Best Male Lead.

Lesley Vanderwalt added herself to the list of Kiwis clutching statuettes with a win in the Makeup and Hairstyling category for her work on Mad Max: Fury Road, which had a good evening in the technical categories.

Expat producer Finola Dwyer’s Brooklyn went zero for three, missing out on Best Film, Actress and Screenplay awards.

Not from here but heading this way is the winner of the Short Documentary Oscar, Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy. Last week Obaid-Chinoy was announced among the first round of international guests confirmed for this year’s Doc Edge Festival.

The 88th Academy Awards were held on Monday 29 February (NZ time). The nominees are:

Best motion picture of the year
Spotlight, Michael Sugar, Steve Golin, Nicole Rocklin and Blye Pagon Faust, Producers

Achievement in directing
The Revenant, Alejandro G. Iñárritu

Performance by an actor in a leading role
Leonardo DiCaprio, The Revenant

Performance by an actor in a supporting role
Mark Rylance, Bridge of Spies

Performance by an actress in a leading role
Brie Larson, Room

Performance by an actress in a supporting role
Alicia Vikander, The Danish Girl

Best animated feature film
Inside Out, Pete Docter and Jonas Rivera

Achievement in cinematography
The Revenant, Emmanuel Lubezki

Achievement in costume design
Mad Max: Fury Road, Jenny Beavan

Best documentary feature
Amy, Asif Kapadia and James Gay-Rees

Best documentary short subject
A Girl in the River: The Price of Forgiveness, Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy

Achievement in film editing
Mad Max: Fury Road, Margaret Sixel

Best foreign language film of the year
Son of Saul, Hungary

Achievement in makeup and hairstyling
Mad Max: Fury Road, Lesley Vanderwalt, Elka Wardega and Damian Martin

Achievement in music written for motion pictures (Original score)
The Hateful Eight, Ennio Morricone

Achievement in music written for motion pictures (Original song)
Writing’s On The Wall, from Spectre,
Music and Lyric by Jimmy Napes and Sam Smith

Achievement in production design
Mad Max: Fury Road, Production Design: Colin Gibson; Set Decoration: Lisa Thompson

Best animated short film
Bear Story, Gabriel Osorio and Pato Escala

Best live action short film
Stutterer, Benjamin Cleary and Serena Armitage

Achievement in sound editing
Mad Max: Fury Road, Mark Mangini and David White

Achievement in sound mixing
Mad Max: Fury Road, Chris Jenkins, Gregg Rudloff and Ben Osmo

Achievement in visual effects
Ex Machina, Andrew Whitehurst, Paul Norris, Mark Ardington and Sara Bennett

Adapted screenplay
The Big Short, Screenplay by Charles Randolph and Adam McKay

Original screenplay
Spotlight, Written by Josh Singer & Tom McCarthy

You may also like
Academy confirms 92 foreign films
Do No Harm qualifies for Oscars
Academy ticks the boxes
And the winner is