Home > screeNZ News > Film > The Tide Keeper scores hat-trick at Show Me Shorts

The Tide Keeper scores hat-trick at Show Me Shorts

Adding to its NZ’s Best win at the NZIFF earlier this year, Alyx Duncan’s The Tide Keeper took three awards including Best Film at the Show Me Shorts awards on Wednesday in Auckland.

Now Oscar-qualified, The Tide Keeper also saw Duncan named Best Director and Chris Pryor and Ben Montgomery share the cinematography gong for their work on the film.

Duncan wasn’t on hand to accept the awards as she’s currently shooting in Thailand.

Fellow Best Film nominees James Cunningham (Accidents, Blunders and Calamities) and Ryan Heron (Return) each took an award, for editing and screenplay respectively.

The second year of the music video category saw Thunderlips repeat their win from last year. In 2014 they took the gong for Sheep, Dog & Wolf’s Glare. This year the team won for The Eversons’ Emily, a video featuring JJ Fong and a pair of dancing dumplings.

The Show Me Shorts Film Festival opens Thursday 12 November. The winners of the 2015 Show Me Shorts awards were (marked ***):

Lightbox Best Film Award
James Cunningham & Oliver Hilbert,Accidents, Blunders and Calamities
Ryan Heron & Matiu Sadd, Return
*** Alyx Duncan, The Tide Keeper

Best International Film Award
Eric Rockey, Pink Boy
*** Jonathan Stein, Out of the Village
Alexander Engel, Digits

DEGNZ Best Director Award
Ryan Heron, Return
James Cunningham, Accidents, Blunders and Calamities
*** Alyx Duncan, The Tide Keeper

StarNow Best Actor Award
*** Tina Cleary, Cub
Kate Elliott, Not Like Her
Maria Walker, Tits on a Bull

Final Draft Best Screenplay Award
Lyse Beck, Turtlebank Hustler
Hash Perambalam, Not Like Her
*** Ryan Heron & Guy Montgomery, Return

Panavision Best Cinematographer Award
*** Chris Pryor & Ben Montgomery, The Tide Keeper
Fernando Hart, The One and Only
Lance Wordsworth, Return

DEGNZ Best Editor Award
Jarrod Wright, Ken Sparks & Sam Brunette, Madam Black
*** James Cunningham, Accidents, Blunders and Calamities
Edward Sampson, Restoration

NZFC Special Jury Prize
*** Mhairead Connor, UFO
Ben Childs, Space Trash Men

Best Music Video
Anna Duckworth & Damian Golfinopoulos, Up In Smoke by Great North
*** Thunderlips, Emily by The Eversons
Tom Townley & Alexander Gandar, Visions by Chelsea Jade

Best Student Film
The Grind, Kyan Krumdieck and Annabelle Dick

People’s Choice Award
Announced when votes are counted

You may also like
Show Me Shorts names nominees
Show Me Shorts picks 55
Show Me Shorts names judges
Show Me Shorts awards tix on sale